The Goddess Test Review and Author Interview


“She stepped into the water and shivered. Apparently it was as cold as it looked. “Consider this a warning, Kate. Don’t touch my boyfriend. Next time it’ll be much, much worse. “And with that she dove headfirst into the river.”

This is Aimee Carter’s debut novel. I believe that she is one author to definitely watch out for!

 The main character of this book is Kate. Kate has given up her life in New York City to take her sick mother home to Eden, Michigan, so that her mother can live out her final days in her hometown. Kate’s mom is very ill and she can see her getting weaker and weaker every day.

 Kate’s first day at her new high school is just as she expected…awful. James is a strange boy that keeps following her around, Dylan will not stop staring and Ava, whom is Dylan’s girlfriend, is afraid that Kate is trying to steal her boyfriend.

 Kate’s life turns totally upside down when Ava tries to get revenge to warn Kate to stay away from her man. When Henry comes to her rescue, she makes a deal that will change her life. Kate is not sure if she can trust Henry or not, but after 6 months, she will realize a lot about herself and everyone around her.

 The reader will be shocked by the conclusion of this book and they will absolutely be left wanting more. I really enjoyed this read and found the storyline to be very unique and interesting. 

 The next book Goddess Interrupted (The Goddess Test 2) is due out in February 2012 and I will be sure to look for it!

 

Definitely 5 stars! * Thank you to Netgalley and Harlequin Publishing for access to the galley for this book!

 Author Interview with Aimee Carter

When did you decide you wanted to be a writer?: I don’t think I ever consciously decided. I’ve written nearly every day in some form or another since I was eleven years old, and it became a habit – as much a part of me as breathing. It didn’t occur to me that I could do this as a career until I was fifteen or so.

Why did you pick the paranormal genre?: I didn’t really pick a genre, to be honest. I write so many different kinds of stories – in the past four years, I’ve written fantasy, paranormal romance, dystopian, contemporary, and more of a straight-up paranormal story. I think up a plot, and if it’s something I really want to write, I write it. The only genre I stick to without wavering is YA. The Goddess Test just happened to be something that fit into the paranormal romance category. I don’t even think I was aware that category really existed at that point, since it was 2007.

Who is your favorite author or the author that inspires you the most?: By far my favorite author is J.K. Rowling, not only for the Harry Potter series, but the way she gives back to the world. She’s a wonderful person, a fabulous writer, and I admire her like crazy. Not only does she inspire me to push myself to be a better writer, but she also inspires me as a person.

What is your favorite book?: This is a toughie. Top three? In no particular order: Ender’s Game (Orson Scott Card), Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (J.K. Rowling), and The Hunger Games (Suzanne Collins).

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?: Fingers crossed, writing away! That will be completely up to the readers and my publishing company, but ideally I would like to write for the rest of my life. Living in London would be nice too, but I’ll take writing first.

If your book was turned into a movie, whom would you cast as the main character, if it was your choice?: I think I would want Kate to be played by a relatively unknown actress. A-list stars tend to be seen as themselves by the audience as opposed to the characters they’re playing, and I would ideally like to see Kate up there, not a big name star. Then again, in the highly unlikely event that The Goddess Test ever reached that stage, I think I’d be too over the moon to care who played her.

When you are not writing, what do you enjoy doing?: I majored in Screen Arts and Culture (a fancy way of saying film) during college, and I still see a lot of movies. I also read, of course, and watch way too much TV. I’m also addicted to logic and word puzzles – or any kind of puzzles, really – so I do a lot of those in my free time as well.

What is next on your agenda? Any new books on the horizon??: The sequel to The Goddess Test, called Goddess Interrupted, will be released in January 2012 by Harlequin TEEN! And check out my Twitter page (@aimee_carter) and website (http://www.aimeecarter.com) for an exciting announcement sometime in the near future.

Thanks so much for having me!

I would like to thank Aimee for being here with us and taking the time to answer my questions! She is definitely an author to watch out for and I will be looking forward to more of her work. The Goddess Test will be released on April 26, 2011, look for it on your bookstore shelves.

I will be giving away a copy of The Goddess Test for the Hoppy Easter Blog hop, come back on April 20th to enter!

2 thoughts on “The Goddess Test Review and Author Interview

Talk to me!

