Blood Warrior By HD Gordon & Janice Gordon Dual Voices Review & WOW


Blood Warrior by HD & Janice Gordon

Kindle Edition

Published September 5th 2011

Add to Goodreads

Purchase a copy at Amazon

When her home is attacked by murderous vampires, 17-year-old Alexa is forced to leave her mother for dead in order to save her sister. She soon learns that she is the last known member of an elite race of supernatural Warriors, and is thrust into a world full of vampires and werewolves who all seem to regard her as some sort of savior. Meanwhile, Alexa battles a monster within herself that seeks to gain control; a monster that seeks blood.

The hidden city she finds herself in appears perfect, but Alexa’s instincts tell her that all is not right within its walls. When she is asked to attend a school of fighters, whose exams consist of gladiator-style competitions, she must decide who she can trust among the smiling faces. And, when she meets Kayden, a vampire she feels undeniably drawn to, she must decide if she can trust herself.

Our Thoughts

Heather: Holy cliffhanger! I feel like I am really left hanging here! Do you get the same feeling?

Diana: It was such a great set up for a sequel.  There was so much going on at the end, so many questions unanswered.  As I was getting closer to the end of the book I was afraid everything was just going to get wrapped up in a neat little package in a few pages, which never does a book justice.  I’m glad that she chose to take her time with the storyline.  And it ensures that the reader is eagerly awaiting the next book, which now I am.  What did you think about Alexa?  A book is only as strong as its hero/heroine.

Heather: Alexa was a strong heroine, although, sometimes I felt like she was a little conceited. But, she was very strong and not afraid to put herself “out there” for the ones that she loves. I really enjoyed the other characters too! Speaking of other characters…SSSwooon! My favorite guy wasJackson, it must be the country drawl..LOL! Which guy left your heart pattering?

Diana: I’m really surprised to say that I’m team Kayden.  I am always rooting for the boy next door kind of guy.  The sweet one who REALLY loves the heroine.  (Funny enough, that’s usually the werewolf, and everyone knows I have a soft spot for shaggy fur and a cold nose).  But in this case I was very into Kayden.  I just felt that they really belonged together.  But I still really loveJackson. (And Tommy and Daniel and Marcus while I’m at it :-P).

Heather: Funny, I NEVER go for the werewolf and this time I did…LOL

Diana’s Review

Blood Warrior is a fast paced story about a 17 year old girl who suddenly finds out that she isn’t who she thought she was, and who has to come to terms with her whole world changing around her.  This book is the definition of a just-one-more-chapter book.  I picked it up hoping to read 1 or 2 chapters before bed, and ended up at chapter 14 before I realized what I was doing.

Mostly I loved this book for the characters.  Alexa is a strong heroine.  She is not only physically but also mentally strong.  She has honor and heart and aims to take care of the people who matter to her most.  I admired her and it wasn’t hard to cheer for her.  Nelly, her sister, is wise beyond her years.  Jackson, Alexa’s only friend as the story begins, is such a sweetie.  He melted my heart at every page.  And Kayden….  He’s the sexy, mysterious man who kept my attention throughout the book.  Even the secondary characters where wonderfully animated and easy to love.

There were a few points throughout the book where I had to question the realistic aspects of the story, but the quick pace and constant suspense made it easy to forgive the few plot holes and predictable story points.  I still have a lot of questions unanswered, and am definitely looking forward to reading the next one to see if I can get any of those answers.

Heather’s Review

First, I would like to thank R2R and the author for the opportunity to review this book.  This book had a very unique storyline and one that kept me reading and never getting bored. The very first few chapters were filled with excitement and it quickly grabbed my attention. I was sucked in and did not want to put the book down.

Our heroine, Alexa, is a very strong young lady and has to come to terms with the fact that basically her whole life has been a lie. She finds out at the worst possible time and must grow up quickly.

I enjoyed the many characters. I especially enjoyed Jackson. He was one of the many swoonworthy boys that Alexa had lining up to sweep her off her feet. I think I enjoyed Jackson because he was with Lexi from the beginning and had always loved her.

The ending jolted me with a cliffhanger. I, now am waiting patiently to move onto the next book in the series! This is a suggested read for any paranormal lover.

Delirium was left on such a cliffhanger, I CANNOT wait to see what Pandemonium has in store for the readers!!!

Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver

Publish Date February 28, 2012

Add it to Goodreads

Pre-Order at Amazon

I’m pushing aside the memory of my nightmare,
pushing aside thoughts of Alex,
pushing aside thoughts of Hana and my old school,
push,
push,
push,
like Raven taught me to do.
The old life is dead.
But the old Lena is dead too.
I buried her.
I left her beyond a fence,
behind a wall of smoke and flame.

Lauren Oliver delivers an electrifying follow-up to her acclaimed New York Times bestseller, Delirium. This riveting, brilliant novel crackles with the fire of fierce defiance, forbidden romance, and the sparks of a revolution about to ignite.

One thought on “Blood Warrior By HD Gordon & Janice Gordon Dual Voices Review & WOW

  1. Pingback: Half Black Soul by H. D. Gordon & Cover Reveal « nightlyreading

Talk to me!

