Within Blog Tour


Within by Clare Marshall

Published on November 13th 2011 by Faery Ink Press

Add it to Goodreads

Purchase a copy at Amazon

Trinity Hartell’s life changed after the accident. Left with irreversible brain damage, she becomes a burden to her mother, a cause for heartbreak for her boyfriend Zack, and a flattened obstacle for her best friend, Ellie.

But then she starts writing. Perhaps it’s a coincidence that the psychotic, murdering protagonist of her novel bears a striking similarity to the charming Wiley Dalton, a mayoral candidate in the upcoming election.

Or, perhaps not…

Review

I would describe this book as a psychological thriller. For some reason, I thought it was paranormal, but I was wrong.

The book starts off with Ellie in the psychologist’s office. He is trying to get her to open up about the events that had happened. She doesn’t really want to talk about it, but, decides to just go for it. She begins thinking back to that fateful night and the story moves on from there. I found this to be an interesting way to start off. The story had captured my attention just by wandering what had happened to make Ellie so closed up and shut people out of her life?

From the very beginning, I did not like Ellie. You could tell that she was jealous of Trinity for having Zack and really wanted him for herself. She just seemed like a weasel and someone that does not make for best friend material. Even after Trinity’s accident, she still was thinking of herself. Zack was a perfect boyfriend! He was sweet and kind. I enjoyed the fact that he stuck right by Trinity’s side and just wanted the best for her! The writer did a great job at portraying the pain and agony he had felt when Trinity was in the hospital.

The reader will actually be shocked by how the story actually plays out and whom has involvement with the murder. There were some parts that were a little hard to follow, but it did not deter me from finishing.

The ending of this book was bitter sweet. I did end up shedding a few tears and was able to smile at the same time. The writer did a good job at wrapping up all the loose ends and I would highly recommend this read for a lover of psych thrillers!

Interview

When did you decide you wanted to be a writer?

 That’s always what I wanted to be, so it wasn’t a decision as much as it was an assumption. I’ve always written stories, plays and poems, but there’s a big difference between casually writing for fun, and turning it into a career. So I went to journalism school and learned how to write to a deadline, and then I went to publishing school to learn how to sell my words.

 Why did you pick the paranormal genre?

 My interest in science fiction/fantasy/supernatural things started when I was four or five when my dad introduced me to Star Wars. Soon after came the original Star Trek re-runs. My younger self wanted to be an astronomer. I learned all the names of the planets and their moons, and general information about the solar system. Over time, I realized that I had to be good at physics to actually become an astronomer, so I settled for using other lands and worlds as backdrops for my fantasies.

 Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

 Good question! I have many goals for myself. I’d love to be living off what I make as a writer by that time, but being in the publishing business, I know that this is a long shot.

Ideal scenario: Living in a mansion with a large library with several spiraling staircases and moving ladders, with a private office that overlooks the ocean. Also, there will be a room in my mansion dedicated to kittens. The kitties never poop on the floor or make any mess whatsoever. My books sell thousands of copies per day.

Reality: Living in a cozy apartment/small house with my partner. Books will not have shelves, but will be piled on the (hopefully clean) floor. No kittens; instead, Neopets. Or, maybe there will be one kitten that grows up to be a chubby must-sit-on-your-keyboard cat. My books sell well enough that it’s a part-time job and I’m able to continue being a freelance editor. J

 Side note: My plan is to publish two books in 2012, and three to four books from 2013 on. If I accomplish this, in 5 years from now (2016) I’ll have at least 15 books out there.

 If your book was turned into a movie, whom would you cast as the main character, if it was your choice?

 Ellen Page. Not only is she fromHalifax, where the book is set, but I think she’s extremely talented and could probably play either of the two female roles in my novel.

 When you are not writing, what do you enjoy doing?

 Right now my no-stress activity is playing video games. Particularly, The Elder Scrolls V (Skyrim) and the Sims 2 (I’m seriously obsessed with this game. How obsessed? 4GB of mods obsessed).

I’m also a musician. I’ve been playing the fiddle for over 15 years and in the summer time, I enjoy busking. I also play the bodhran and step-dance. Yep, I’m a stereotypical Bluenoser! (Affectionate slang-term for a person who is fromNova Scotia.)

Of course, all this happens when I’m not working on my freelance editing and design projects. I like to keep myself busy.

 What is next on your agenda? Any new books on the horizon??

 In May, I plan to release my next book, The Violet Fox. This is a YA fantasy that I’ve been dying to write for years, and now, I’m almost done the first draft. The Violet Fox is set in a fantasy world where there are two groups of people: those that live on the surface (the Marlenians) and those that are forced to live underground (the Freetors). The protagonist is a sixteen-year-old girl from the underground who must pretend to be Marlenian nobility to retrieve stolen magical documents…but gets more than she bargains for when she uncovers an assassination plot, and falls in love with the Marlenian prince.

 

Speed Round:

 

  1. Favorite Book? Currently: Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater OR A Storm of Swords, by G.R.R. Martin
  2. Favorite Author? At the moment, Maggie Stiefvater.
  3. Favorite genre to read? Young adult fantasy/dystopian fiction
  4. Favorite genre to write? Young adult speculative fiction
  5. Favorite place to read? In bed, under the covers.

 

2 thoughts on “Within Blog Tour

Talk to me!

