Swirls Blog Tour


Swirls by FA Hershey

Published July 8th 2011

Source:Author

Add it to Goodreads

Purchase a copy at Amazon

Sixteen-year-old Julia finds herself leaving her London life behind to move with her parents to the Amazon jungle.

A native descendant, she becomes familiarized with her own roots for the first time in her life. However, she never imagines she is about to discover much more than her own past but also just how crowded our little planet is…

This is a present time sci-fi/ fantasy story about trust, friendship, love and self-discovery.

This book falls into the category of YA fiction, though not unsuitable for younger readers.

Review

Julia’s father is overly excited to move to the amazon jungle. Her mother, not so much. Julia is not as excited either, but goes along with it for her father’s sake. And also that she has no other choice.

She runs into a strange man in the airport, that she feels connected to in some strange way, but has never seen him before. When she arrives at the hotel where they will be staying, she quickly becomes friends with the owners daughter. This soon becomes her journey to discovering her legacy as a guardian. She has a lot to learn and needs to do it quickly for things all around her are changing and her life may be in jeopardy.

This book really sucked me in at the beginning. I had gotten lost somewhere around the middle, but made up for it at the end. I enjoyed all the characters, but of course, enjoyed Gabriel the most! He was secretive and mysterious. He does his best to help Julia learn all that she can about being a guardian.

This is my Gabriel:

I am looking forward to the next book in the series and am curious at to what comes next!

Author Interview with FA Hershey

When did you decide you wanted to be a writer?

 The process was long. Before I realized I had, in fact, become a writer, I thought about being a vet after my high school years. Then I changed to the idea that maybe I could fare well as a lawyer, though I began a sketchbook of my own fashion designs and made myself believe that THAT was my true calling. I couldn’t have been more wrong!

I have always loved the English language, and I’ve read books since I learned how to, but my first year in Englandkept me away from books for quite some time. I was working full time (and then some more), so reading was out of the question for me. I remember one day, when my husband and I were going out to have our lunch break (we worked together in a restaurant at the time), and there was a paraphernalia of Harry Potter merchandise and books and colorful Hogwart’s treats for the passing crowd. My legs acted on their own accord and I ended up with the latest Harry Potter brick in my hands. From then on I started to cherish my passion for literature, which led me to my idea for Swirls and my becoming a writer.

Why did you pick the paranormal genre?

 It’s my favorite genre as a reader, and so I felt more confident in this genre as a writer too.

 Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

 I like to see myself with a couple of trilogies up on the shelf imagining that people will love the worlds I come up with as much as I will. It’s silly to want to think of ourselves as the next J K Rowling, and I don’t. But at least I would love to be able to be a full time writer and actually write for a living.

 If your book was turned into a movie, whom would you cast as the main character, if it was your choice?

 I have once looked for actors that could represent Gabriel as I envisioned him. I mentioned that Drew Fuller would do the job, but I’m not so sure now. There is this guy I saw on a Vogue magazine a few months ago that I thought was getting closer to the Gabriel I had imagined in my head, but I never found out his name and he is a model, so it doesn’t count. Let’s see… I suppose a younger Ian Somerhalder would be very suitable for the role, and so it would be a younger Julia Jones as Julia, Freida Pinto as Halola and red-headed Rachel Hurd-Wood as Ruby. That cast would work for me! J

 When you are not writing, what do you enjoy doing?

 I read a lot. I am also a great fan of period dramas and old TV series. I like a good romance and strong characters in a story and so period dramas are on my top list. I have a thing for audiobooks and talk shows too. I feel like crying every time I watch David Attenborough’s nature series and wish he was my Grandfather :-D.

I love to spend most of my free time with my family. I have a young son, who demands a lot of attention and a busy husband who I get a hold of and don’t let go whenever he is home.

 What is next on your agenda? Any new books on the horizon??

 Book 2 in The Outsiders Trilogy, Threads, is on its way. I want to get it out there soon, but I still don’t know exactly when. I am aiming for a couple of months. Book 3, nameless for the time being, will be out next year.

Speed Round:

 

  1. Favorite Book? Right now, A Discovery of Witches
  2. Favorite Author? J K Rowling
  3. Favorite genre to read? Young adult
  4. Favorite genre to write? Young adult
  5. Favorite place to read? On a comfy sofa with a cuppa in hand.

 Thank you FA for being here today and for the interview!

WOW

Goddess Interrupted By Aimee Carter

Expected publication: March 27th 2012 by HarlequinTeen

Add it to Goodreads

Kate Winters has won immortality.

But if she wants a life in the Underworld with Henry, she’ll have to fight for it.

Becoming immortal wasn’t supposed to be the easy part. Though Kate is about to be crowned Queen of the Underworld, she’s as isolated as ever. And despite her growing love for Henry, ruler of the Underworld, he’s becoming ever more distant and secretive. Then, in the midst of Kate’s coronation, Henry is abducted by the only being powerful enough to kill him: the King of the Titans.

As the other gods prepare for a war that could end them all, it is up to Kate to save Henry from the depths of Tartarus. But in order to navigate the endless caverns of the Underworld, Kate must enlist the help of the one person who is the greatest threat to her future.

Henry’s first wife, Persephone.

Winner’s Circle

Frey & Pieces of Eight Giveaway Winners:

Paperback- Sarah C.

Ebook Copies:

Cassie D.

Pragya

Michelle G.

Children Of The Gods ebook Winner:

Lolita

Congratulations!!!

This entry was posted in 2012, February on by .

About H. Lee

Heather is a happily married wife & Mom of 2 daughters and three four legged kids. She began her addiction to reading with the Twilight Saga. Mainly she reads anything in the young adult genre and is always on the lookout for the newest bestseller!

7 thoughts on “Swirls Blog Tour

    1. Lacey

      Hey! Congrats! I’ve already emailed the authors and I’m waiting to hear back from them but hopefully I can get it tonight or tomorrow!! I had something come up just recently and had to take care of it so I just got to email them today but by history they respond within 24 hours. I’ll try my best!! and sorry for the delay but you shall get the book!!

      Reply

Talk to me!

