Meeting Destiny by Nancy Straight


Meeting Destiny by Nancy Straight

Published June 26th 2010

Add it to Goodreads

Purchase a copy from Amazon

Lauren is visited in her dreams for years by a stranger claiming to be her destiny. Destiny becomes reality when paths cross during a failed robbery attempt. Lauren and the stranger experience chemistry like no other and now her doubt over her long time relationship with her high school sweetheart is not her only secret…someone else knows about her keen intuition and sixth sense.A mysterious clairvoyant seeks Lauren out and tells her not only of her life now but what the future may hold. Soon Lauren is in the middle of a murder investigation and a questionable friendship with the key suspect. Law enforcement, friends and family are concerned for Lauren but unfortunately they are unaware of the true danger…Sinister forces are at work and will stop at nothing to destroy Lauren’s abilities.

Heather’s Review

I cannot express how much I have enjoyed this book! I have read quite a few lately that I have not been able to connect to, so this was a great surprise!

The book starts off with Lauren at work. Her boyfriend,

Seth

is saying goodbye and her friend, Melissa is working the register. Lauren notices a strange man walk into the restaurant and all the hair on the back of her neck stands at attention. She quickly gets Melissa to go do some other chore so that she can take care of the strange man. Long story short, the scene escalates and Lauren ends up getting shot.

The funny part is that Lauren does not even realize that she had been shot in the first place! The paramedics arrive and Lauren takes notice to one paramedic in particular. He looks VERY familiar and it dawns on her where she has seen him before. In her dreams!!!

Max

is the paramedic that helps Lauren on the way to the hospital. This is the start of a chain of events that Lauren has a hard time believing in and one that helps her find her true love!

I don’t know ladies, both Max & Seth are pretty swoony! Seth is described as blond hair, gorgeous and the guy that typically every girl would throw herself at. Max is described as bulky with amazing eyes! Which to choose??

I loved the storyline and since it was so new and exciting, I was not able to guess where the story was going next! The one issue that I had was that the characters were adults, Lauren was 22 going on 23 and her parents still treated her like a child. There were a few times that I had to keep reminding myself that these were adults and not high school kids.

The character of Lauren was written well and I was able to feel and cry for her at times during the book.

Now, the ending is set up on a cliffhanger

and you will want the next book in the series IMMEDIATELY, just like I did, Destiny’s Revenge, look for the review coming soon!

I would like to thank R2R and the author for allowing me to review this book!

Diana’s Review

I would like to start by saying that I am so mad at the ending. I mean, I’ve read cliffhangers before, but rarely do I finish a book with a huge need to start reading the next one RIGHT NOW! I have a billion other books to read, but I still am ready to drop everything to go get the next book. With that said, on to the review….

The book opens with a bang (no pun intended, read the book for clarification). From the very beginning I was drawn into the story. There were a ton of twists and turns, and it was never a dull moment reading this. If I didn’t have to work I’m sure I could have finished it in a day. I don’t want to summarize the story since you can read about it in the blurb and Heather’s review above. I’m actually so excited to write this review I just wanna jump right into all the things I love about this book, mainly, the characters.

Lauren- She’s our heroine. She’s brave, smart, sarcastic, caring, loyal. I connected with her right away. It was actually really amazing reading her actions and dialogue. Its like almost everything she did or said would have been exactly the same as what I would have done (not everything, she’s definitely braver than I am, but the everyday stuff). As realistic heroines go, she’s truly one of my favorites.

Seth- Lauren and Seth’s mothers have been best friends since they were in school. So much so that they moved in next door to each other, and even got pregnant within 2 months of each other. Therefore Lauren and Seth grew up as best friends. So close that it was just assumed that they would end up together. And Lauren never really had a reason to dispute that. Seth is a sweetheart of a character. He totally loves Lauren. My heart broke for him when Lauren met Max. Talk about a boyfriend to root for. Reminded me of how much I loved Zak from Shattered Souls (go read that one, too).

Seth

Max- I want to preface this by saying that I’m especially in love with Max because he reminds my of an ex (named Max), but even outside of my personal bias, he was wonderful. Sweet, passionate, hunky, but still realistic as a person. He gets jealous, he gets mad, basically, he has flaws. He was a very realist good guy.

Max

If you read my reviews, you know how much I 1) hate love triangles, and 2) hate love at first sight stories, but I have to say, this one was something else. I felt like the way the author wrote it, it was all believable. Nothing about these points made me angry at the least. That’s right, there were no eye roll moments.

 I’m just as shocked as you are.

And as I already stated, the cliffhanger! Oye. Talk about taking a most unexpected turn. I will definitely be picking up the next one, probably sooner than later.

4 thoughts on “Meeting Destiny by Nancy Straight

  1. Two great reviews! :D
    Glad both of you loved it (possibly even more than I did it!) I don’t have time to read the sequel yet but looking forward to hearing your thoughts on the matter.

    Oh, and question for you both… Max or Seth??? :D
    Faye

    • Max. Hands down. I love Seth, but for someone else. But they are both so sweet. I love when a book isn’t afraid to make everyone the good guy.

    • I agree with you both <3 Max is the kind of guy I see myself with, and therefore feel he's the perfect fit for Lauren… ;) :p hehe.
      I really like Seth and Amanda though, I hope that gets developed more! :D

Talk to me!

