We All Fall Down by Nic Sheff & Cover Reveal


Audio Book Review

We All Fall Down by Nic Sheff

Published on April 10, 2012 by Hatchette Audio

Source: Publisher

Add to Goodreads

In his bestselling memoir Tweak, Nic Sheff took readers on an emotionally gripping roller-coaster ride through his days as a crystal meth and heroin addict. Now in this powerful follow-up about his continued efforts to stay clean, Nic writes candidly about eye-opening stays at rehab centers, devastating relapses, and hard-won realizations about what it means to be a young person living with addiction.

My Review

“It’s like if the music is loud enough I won’t be able to listen to my own thoughts. ”

I have not read Nic’s first book Tweak, but I have read his father’s, My Beautiful Boy. I was fascinated with this story from chapter one. I liked that it was written by just a normal every day guy and not some celebrity.

I listened to the audio book version of this book and really enjoyed Charles Carroll’s performance. His voice fit the story perfectly! He sounds as laid back as Nic. His voice was mesmerizing and it kept me entertained.

I was interested to really hear what Nic had to say. My sister has been an addict for many, many years. She is clean at the moment, but just like Nic, she could relapse at any time. I was never really able to understand her thoughts or feelings about the subject or even if she wanted to get clean. After listening to this book, it helped me get a better understanding of what may have been going on in that head of hers.

I give Nic a lot of credit for having the nerve to write not only one book, but a second as well. It takes a lot of guts to come out to the whole world about your wrong doings. Also, to be able to share your lowest points of your life. Not everyone would be able to do it. I also would like to mention Nic’s father here for a moment. Sometimes it takes “tough love” to help those we care about the most and even though Nic may not feel this way, but, I am sure it was very hard on Dad to literally lock him out of his life like that. I can also say that Dad has probably never been prouder than the moment Nic asked him for help.

I would just like to send out a special message to Nic Sheff himself, I think what you are doing by trying to speak to young adults about your addiction is wonderful. You probably do not even realize how much you help them. Stay safe and take one day at a time. Also, have faith in yourself, look at all you have accomplished already! Thanks for sharing your story!!!

 “And though I have done many shameful things, I am not ashamed of who I am. I am not ashamed of who I am because I know who I am. I have tried to rip myself open and expose everything inside – accepting my weaknesses and strengths – not trying to be anyone else. ‘Cause that never works, does it? So my challenge is to be authentic. And I believe I am today. I believe I am.”

4 Good Nite Kisses

Cover Reveal

The world is about to be cloaked in darkness.

Only one can stop the night.

 

Kellen St. James has spent his entire life being overlooked as an unwanted, ordinary, slightly geeky kid. That is until a beautiful girl, one who has haunted his dreams for the past eleven years of his life, shows up spinning tales of a prophecy. Not just any old prophecy either, but one in which Kellen plays a key role.

Suddenly, Kellen finds himself on the run through a Celtic underworld of faeries and demons, angels and gods, not to mention a really ticked off pack of hellhounds, all in order to save the world from darkness. But will they make it in time?

 

About The Author:

Stephanie Keyes was born in Mt. Lebanon, Pennsylvania and has worked for the past twelve years as a corporate educator and curriculum designer in the Telecommunications industry. She holds a Master’s degree in Education with a specialization in Instructional Technology from Duquesne University and a B.S. in Management Information Systems from Robert Morris University. She is a classically trained clarinetist, but also plays the saxophone and sings. When she’s not writing, she is a wife to a wonderfully supportive husband and mother to two little boys whom she cites as her inspiration for all things writing. The Star Child is Mrs. Keyes’ debut novel.

Website:

http://www.stephaniekeyes.com Twitter: https://twitter.com/stephaniekeyes

Facebook:

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Stephanie-Keyes/150860604966160

 

Giveaway Details(Open for USA. Other countries to be confirmed):

 

Celtic knot designed antiqued bookmark – Will go very good with this book! J

 

 

 

Rafflecopter link for the giveaway:

http://www.inkspellpublishing.com/1/post/2012/07/star-child-cover-reveal.html

 

 

 

 

Cover:

 

This entry was posted in 2012, July on by .

About H. Lee

Heather is a happily married wife & Mom of 2 daughters and three four legged kids. She began her addiction to reading with the Twilight Saga. Mainly she reads anything in the young adult genre and is always on the lookout for the newest bestseller!

One thought on “We All Fall Down by Nic Sheff & Cover Reveal

Talk to me!

