On The Island by Tracey Garvis-Graves


On the Island by Tracey Garvis-Graves

Published June 7th 2012 by Penguin

Source: Borrowed Kindle Copy

Add to Goodreads

When thirty-year-old English teacher Anna Emerson is offered a job tutoring T.J. Callahan at his family’s summer rental in the Maldives, she accepts without hesitation; a working vacation on a tropical island trumps the library any day. T.J. Callahan has no desire to leave town, not that anyone asked him. He’s almost seventeen and if having cancer wasn’t bad enough, now he has to spend his first summer in remission with his family – and a stack of overdue assignments – instead of his friends.

Anna and T.J. are en route to join T.J.’s family in the Maldives when the pilot of their seaplane suffers a fatal heart attack and crash-lands in the Indian Ocean. Adrift in shark-infested waters, their life jackets keep them afloat until they make it to the shore of an uninhabited island.

Now Anna and T.J. just want to survive and they must work together to obtain water, food, fire, and shelter. Their basic needs might be met but as the days turn to weeks, and then months, the castaways encounter plenty of other obstacles, including violent tropical storms, the many dangers lurking in the sea, and the possibility that T.J.’s cancer could return. As T.J. celebrates yet another birthday on the island, Anna begins to wonder if the biggest challenge of all might be living with a boy who is gradually becoming a man.

My Review

I went to see The Blue Lagoon in the theater when I was little. I still remember it. I really believe that is the reason why I enjoy books/movies about people stranded on deserted islands! I hear this one is going to be made into a movie too and I can’t wait to see it!

When reading this book, I thought that the relationship between the two characters was going to be creepy, but, it was anything but! I thoroughly enjoyed how TJ started off as a teenager and finished his time on the island as a man. I believe that is exactly how Anna had seen him also. Anna, herself, was very brave and I liked her confidence upon returning home with everything that she had to deal with from the public.

This is a beautiful story about how 2 people survived a tragic accident and innocently cam e to love one another. I, personally, loved them together and felt that they were a perfect fit for each other. Anna was the voice of reason and TJ helped to keep Anna young.

 

2 thoughts on “On The Island by Tracey Garvis-Graves

  1. I Really liked this one :3 and I Love Blue Lagoon and Return to Blue Lagoon! I haven’t seem them in ages but the book definitely made me remember those films! Glad to hear you enjoyed it :D!

Talk to me!

