Auracle by Gina Rosati, Author Interview


Auracle by Gina Rosati

Published August 7th 2012 by Roaring Brook Press

Add to Goodreads

16 year old Anna Rogan has a secret she’s only shared with her best friend, Rei; she can astrally project out of her body, allowing her spirit to explore the world and the far reaches of the universe.

When there’s a fatal accident and her classmate Taylor takes over Anna’s body, what was an exhilarating distraction from her repressive home life threatens to become a permanent state. Faced with a future trapped in another dimension, Anna turns to Rei for help. Now the two of them must find a way to get Anna back into her body and stop Taylor from accusing an innocent friend of murder. Together Anna and Rei form a plan but it doesn’t take into account the deeper feelings that are beginning to grow between them.

Interview

Which author inspires you the most and why?

 A.S. King inspires me the most. She stabs her pen right in there and gets to the heart of the matter. She tackles issues that make me squirm and shouts words that make me blush. She says what she means and doesn’t beat around the bush. Her writing style challenges us to stick it in a genre box, but it can’t be done. But the most amazing thing about A.S. King is that she has her priorities straight … every blog, every FB post, every Tweet and acknowledgement page she’s written shows me that she is grateful to have the opportunity to write, to publish, but at the end of the day, people are what matter to her most.

When you are not writing, what are some of your other interests?

-          My husband, teenage son and daughter and two guinea pigs!

-          I’ve volunteered in the schools since my son started kindergarten, and now my main volunteer position is in the middle school library. I love the middle school library!! Kids are just discovering the wonderful world of YA fiction, and I love to share my favorite books with them.

-          I am a crafting junkie! I learned how to crochet when I was six, and I must have made a hundred afghans since. I also needlepoint, cross-stitch, bead (pretty shiny beads are an addiction to me!) and my next endeavor is to learn to spin luscious yarn like fellow author Jodi Meadows (INCARNATE) http://jmeadows.livejournal.com/895225.html

-          I decorate cakes as a hobby, so that’s another place I’d astral project to … Carlo’s Bakery in Hoboken, NJ to see Buddy (The Cake Boss.)

 If your book was turned into a movie, whom would you cast as the leading role if it was your choice?

Rei – Ryan Higa – If you don’t already subscribe to Ryan’s Youtube channels (he has two) you’re missing out. I first heard about Ryan after the tsunami in Japan when he did a “Honk for Japan” fundraiser on his NigaHiga channel, and he seems like an all-around nice guy with a ton of talent. And he has a really cute puppy!

Anna – Chloë Moretz, although her hair needs to be much darker. She seems to have a ton of energy and that’s what Anna’s all about.

Taylor – Dianna Agron – she has the bitchy thing down to a science. She’s probably one of the sweetest people in real life.

Seth – Keegan Allen – I admit I’ve never seen this guy act, but he has that moody look about him. I also admit that I don’t watch a lot of tv, so if anyone has suggestions, I’m listening.

 

 Thanks Gina for the interview!

Auracle can be purchased at:

B&N|Amazon

 

One thought on “Auracle by Gina Rosati, Author Interview

  1. Eve Marie Mont

    Great interview! I’m with you on A.S. King–such an honest, unflinching writer. And Chloe Moretz is adorable and hilarious–great choice for Anna. I remember seeing her for the first time in Kick-ass and being so impressed! (Also loved her appearances on 30 Rock.)

    Reply

Talk to me!

