Mercy by Rebecca Lim


There is something very wrong with me. I can’t remember who I am or how old I am, or even how I got here. All I know is that when I wake up, I could be any age and anyone, all over again. It is always this way.

 

Title- Mercy

Author- Rebecca Lim

Publisher-yperion Book Publishing

Publish Date- May 17th, 2011

Purchase- Amazon

I have mixed feelings about this book. Unfortunately, I wanted to absolutely love it, however, I did not.

Mercy is fallen and she tends to inhabit people’s bodies and live their life for them while she is borrowing their “shell” per say. She does not remember whom she has “borrowed” before and does not know where she will go next.

In this book, she is living the life of Carmen whose school choir is getting ready to put on a huge concert that incorporates other schools in the area. While practicing for this concert, she is staying with the Daley family. The Daley’s have lost their daughter, Lauren. She has been missing for a long time. Mr. & Mrs. Daley have taken the advice from the counselor to just let go and keep on living. However, Lauren’s brother, Ryan cannot. He believes that she is still alive and will stop at nothing to save her. Mercy/Carmen decides to help Ryan because she too believes that Lauren can be saved.

I was not keen on the writing style of this book, it tended to be very confusing. You really had no idea that the main character’s name was Mercy until almost the end and even then, it was fairly vague. I still am not sure whom “Luc” is, even though, he seemed to play a major part in the book?

I did, however, enjoy the storyline and the one point that kept me going to finish the book was finding out what happened to Lauren. I just had to know the who done it??? And, if she was still alive.

Rebecca Lim had a great idea for a storyline, the writing was not one of my liking, but I was still pushed to read the book to the absolute end.

*Thanks to NetGalley for the opportunity to review this book!

2 comments

  1. I had not heard of this book yet, and am glad that you mentioned it. I always wonder what is going on when there is a character in a book that you are not sure what all is going on with them.

    Like

Talk to me!

