Posted in 2011, May

Blogging


Today is the final day.  *tear* This was a great experience, even if it was from right here in my own home, maybe next year, I can attend the actual event?

Our post today is supposed to be something about blogging. So, I am going to tell you a little about why I love reading YA.

My love affair had started with Twilight. I actually put off seeing the movie forever. By the time that I saw the first movie, Eclipse was due to come out in a few months. After I saw the movie, I ran out and bought the book. I was hooked! I borrowed the rest of the series from the library and blew right through them. Then I just started looking for other YA paranormal series. The second that I read was The Wolves of Mercy Falls series by Maggie Steifvater. I just kept right on going and never stopped.

I really think that I love the YA genre because it takes me back to my youth, back when there were so many possibilities surrounding you and you had decisions to make about the rest of your life. The everyday worries of kids, bills and work were not there.

I usually read a lot of paranormal/fantasy, but lately, I have discovered a lot of romance. I am loving them. Of course for the leading men in the stories. I think that is why so many women like romance novels, the men are so swoon worthy. It makes one think that is why they are fictional characters, these guys could not possibly exist!

I have had a lot of fun this week and look forward to next year!!!

Author:

Heather is a happily married wife & Mom of 2 daughters and three four legged kids. She began her addiction to reading with the Twilight Saga. Mainly she reads anything in the young adult genre and is always on the lookout for the newest bestseller!

One thought on “Blogging

  1. These are the reasons I write YA! 🙂 I identify strongly with that time period in my life, being right on the cusp of adulthood, bursting at the seams to just get to it. I began my YA love affair when I read a Sarah Dessen book I’d given my daughter (The Truth About Forever), right after taking a YA lit course (when I was thinking about being an English teacher). Then my daughter insisted I read Twilight, and after tearing through that series I read almost everything on her bookshelf and then started buying my own. At some point I began writing my own, too. But I still LOVE to read and I’m sad for myself that this genre, in its current conception, wasn’t around when I was a teen.

    Like

Talk to me!

