Posted in 2011, Author Interviews, Giveaways!, June

Putting Makeup On Dead People Review, Interview & Giveaway!


 

 

 

 Title- Putting Makeup on Dead People

Author- Jen Violi

Publisher- Hyperion

Publish Date- May 24, 2011

Purchase- Amazon

My Review:

First off, I would like to say how much I love this cover. The bold colors and the picture are very vivid. The cover itself jumps out to the reader making you want to pick up this book and take a look inside.

Donna lost her Dad four years ago and has not quite gotten over it. Also, add in the fact that she is quiet and shy with not many friends. This book takes you on Donna’s journey from teenager to a young woman. She learns about friendship, family, sex and death through the many obstacles of her life.

My favorite character would have to be Liz, Donna’s BFF. Throughout the book, you really get the sense that Liz is so much fun to be around. The mother in me must have come out when Donna met Tim, the whole time while reading, I wanted to scream “Are you crazy?”. I am so glad that Donna chose to give her heart somewhere else. As far as the relationship between Donna and her mother, I do not think there is a teenager or a mother that has not gone through these awkward teen fights. Their relationship was written in a way that I could feel for them both and also understand where they both were coming from.

I really enjoyed reading this book. It kind of gave me an idea of what I can look forward to with dealing with my daughter, she turns 13 this year. Also, it helped me realize that as a mother, we really need to listen and try to let our children lead their lives, even if we do not agree because in the end, they will most likely make the right decisions!

 

 Character Interview:

Could you please tell our readers your name and if you have a nickname?

 My name is Donna Parisi.  My brother B calls me Donder, which is mostly okay coming from him but sometimes makes me feel like an unwieldy creature with antlers, only appropriate to bring out about once a year.  My new friend Liz calls me D, and I like that.  It’s simple and sounds cool.

 How old are you?

I just turned eighteen, but I usually feel like I’m about eighty-seven.

 Describe yourself to me.

Most of the time, I feel abnormal, like I’m different from everyone else, one step removed and on the constant search to find myself.  So far, I’ve been hiding pretty well, so the search is taking a while.  As I just recently discovered, I also happen to feel right at home with dead bodies, which I’m sure isn’t going to help with the normal thing.

 Can you tell us a little about your friends/boyfriend/girlfriend?

 I guess my new best friend is Liz.  I’m nervous calling her that, but that’s how it feels to me.  I’ve never met anyone like her.  She’s fearless and beautiful and for some reason, she likes to hang out with me.  I don’t have a boyfriend at the moment.  Well, actually there haven’t been any moments when I’ve had one.  But I’d like to.  There is this one guy, Charlie, who I think is pretty incredible and who Liz thinks likes me.  Although I think Liz is super smart, I’m pretty sure she’s delusional about this.

 If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be?

 I wish I was braver, that I could be like Liz, saying what I want and what I think and not worrying so much.  I wish I felt more like a warrior than a walnut.

 Can you tell us what the oddest thing that has ever happened to you was?

 I guess it was when Richie—one of the guys in my theater group—gave me a two dimensional Valentine collage he’d made using unicorn stickers, glitter, and cotton balls.  I could only figure out why he had access to one of those things.

 Do you get along with your parents? What are they like?

 I got along great with my Dad, but he died four years ago.  He was amazing—funny and smart and kooky.  But now he’s gone.  And just like with the search for myself, I’m not sure where to find him now either.  Mom is still around, but I don’t think she really gets me, and the feeling’s mutual.  For instance, she could spend hours cross-stitching, and I could spend hours staring at pine trees. But I do know she loves me, and that matters a lot.

 One last fun question, what is in your refrigerator right now?

 Mom just made some macaroni salad.  She said it’s to remind summer that it’s supposed to be starting.  I told her I thought Summer might respond better to a post-it note than a pasta one.

Giveaway:

The author and Disney Hyperion have graciously given me 3 books to give away on my blog! S, here are the rules:

1. Please fill out the FORM.

2. USA & Canada only, sorry International readers:(

3. In the book, Donna wants to go to school to be a mortician, leave a comment telling us if your child wanted to choose this career path, what would you say? If you are a teen, would you consider this career? Why or why not?

4. The winners will be chosen through random.org. The contest will close on Wednesday, June 8th at 12:00 noon EST. I will post winners that afternoon! The books will be shipped directly from the publisher.

*A big thanks to Jen for introducing us to Donna and to Hallie from Disney for helping with the giveaway. Also, to NetGalley and Hyperion for allowing me to review this book!

Author:

Heather is a happily married wife & Mom of 2 daughters and three four legged kids. She began her addiction to reading with the Twilight Saga. Mainly she reads anything in the young adult genre and is always on the lookout for the newest bestseller!

12 thoughts on “Putting Makeup On Dead People Review, Interview & Giveaway!

  1. I think I would be a little creeped out if one of my kids chose this as a career, but I would still be supportive of their choice. It is their life, even if the thought of it gives me goosebumps.

    Like

  2. I Wanted to read this one so bad!! but my time passed for reading it in the Gally u_u

    Glad you Liked it though! can’t wait to Actually read it ^^

    Like

  3. I don’t have any children so I can’t say if I would want one to go to mortician school. I can say though that I don’t think it is the worst profession, I couldn’t do it but I think it takes a special person to do that.

    Like

  4. I don’t have any children but I would be okay with their decision. Funny part is that I’m studying Forensic Science, and I’m still deciding whether or not I should be stuck in a lab my whole life or if I should go on the scene. I think that you have to have some guts (which at first I thought I didn’t have) to choose such a career but it’s great!

    Like

  5. I think that people express such shock and outrage when their child chooses to do anything that is even slightly morose, or morbid, but I can’t imagine why it would be a problem. The fact of the matter is, all the morticians of the world were someone’s children – they made that decision, so why should my child be exempt from following something that he/she desires or dreams about just because I am uncomfortable with it? If everyone was creeped out by the thought of their child being a mortician, we’d be in big trouble…*shrugs* It’s another profession – while doctors help heal patient, morticians help heal the family of those who have passed away by providing some measure of closure by way of their last rites. I would be okay with my child choosing this profession, as long as he or she wanted to go into it for the right reasons!

    ~Hira~
    Email: Enamoredsoul(at)gmail(dot)com

    Like

Talk to me!

