Posted in 2011, June

Leaving Paradise by Simone Elkeles


I give her the only honest and true answer I have.
“You’re where I want to be.”

 

 

 

Title- Leaving Paradise

Author- Simone Elkeles

Publisher- Flux

Publish Date- April 1, 2007

Purchase- Amazon

Maggie is having a hard time recovering from her accident. She was hit by a drunk driver and has had to endure months of surgeries and rehab. She walks with a limp and her whole world has been shattered.

Caleb is getting ready to be released from juvie. He had gotten drunk at a party one night, drove and hit his next door neighbor. What makes it worse was that he had left the scene of the crime and left her lying there for dead.

They both just want to get on with their lives and put the past behind them, but that is easier said than done. What they find in each other is the strength to make it through all of the hatred of the past.

I LOVED, LOVED, LOVED this book! The characters were great and I was sucked in within the first chapter. I understand that Maggie had gone through a traumatic experience, but sometimes, I think she was just being a baby. I mean of course the physical therapist is going to push you, it’s his job! I HATED Kendra! She was so manipulative. Caleb, well, he has a lot of issues, but he seemed to be trying to work through them. I wished he would have been a stronger person for Maggie. The relationship with Caleb and Maggie is so complicated and the fact that they try to overcome the past to look forward to a future. The end kind of leaves you hanging so make sure that you have the next book ready!

As you may have noticed, I have recently been reading a lot of books by Simone Elkeles. She is a great writer and I hope she continues to thrill me with her characters and amazing plots!

Author:

Heather is a happily married wife & Mom of 2 daughters and three four legged kids. She began her addiction to reading with the Twilight Saga. Mainly she reads anything in the young adult genre and is always on the lookout for the newest bestseller!

One thought on “Leaving Paradise by Simone Elkeles

Talk to me!

