Posted in 2011, June

Halo by Alexandra Adornetto & Giveaway Winners!


“I don’t care anymore.” I turned my face up toward Heaven. “That’s not my home anymore. You are.”

Title- Halo

Author- Alexandra Adornetto

Publisher- Feiwel & Friends

Publish date- August 31, 2010

Purchase- Amazon

It took me a long time to get my hands on this book. I kept my eye out for it everywhere! I wanted to read it so bad, so when I actually found it…it went on the top of my to-read pile.

I had read all different reviews for this book. It seems like you either LOVE it or HATE it??? I guess that I may be the exception because I was neither. I found the book to be a good read, but would not run out and buy my own copy…I guess that I could say that I do not HAVE to own it.

Bethany, her sister Ivy and her brother Gabe have been sent to Earth on a peaceful mission. They are not sure what the mission is yet, but will figure it out as they go along. This is Bethany’s first trip to earth and in a human body, so you can only imagine some of the trials she goes through.

While I enjoyed the storyline, I found myself getting frustrated due to the MANY paragraphs describing what Bethany saw, felt and thought. I do enjoy getting into the minds of the characters, but this just seemed overboard.

My favorite character was Ivy. She tended to balance out Gabe and Beth. While Gabe would get very angry and Bethany would just go off and do whatever she wanted to without permission, Ivy tended to keep a level head and remain calm during complicated situations.

The relationship between Xavier and Beth, I thought was beautiful. I must be getting old because everyone that I conversed with stated that they thought it was really cheesy. I just chalked it up to being old-fashioned and the characters being super religious.

I will read the next book in the series, Hades due to come out in August, 2011.

 

 

Giveaway Winners:

The following are the giveaway winners for Putting Makeup on Dead People by Jen Violi. To read my review, please go here.

And the winners are:

Alice D.

Jude

Mariajose(A Bit of Everything)

Congratulations! The winners have been emailed and the book will come directly from the publisher!

Thanks for following:)

Author:

Heather is a happily married wife & Mom of 2 daughters and three four legged kids. She began her addiction to reading with the Twilight Saga. Mainly she reads anything in the young adult genre and is always on the lookout for the newest bestseller!

3 thoughts on “Halo by Alexandra Adornetto & Giveaway Winners!

  1. I didn’t like Halo, In fact I barely even started it :/ and by the same reasons, way to many description.
    and I think it was beautifully written. Boring as Hell.. But Beautifully written.

    and Thank You Heather for the Giveaway :D!

    Like

Talk to me!

