Posted in 2011, June

I’m Not Her by Janet Gurtler


First few lines:

No matter how much I don’t want to care, it’s not easy being stranded all alone in the middle of a crowded room, like the ugliest dog at the animal shelter. Kristina shoved me into her shiny red toyota like she’s my fairy godmother, insisting I do the party “for my own good.” But other than a few heys and disinterested stares, noone notices that I am even there.

Publish Date: May 1, 2011

Publisher: Sourcebooks

Received: Via publisher in exchange for a review

Purchase: Amazon

I love the cover for this book. It reminds me of summer. Also with the flowers, it reminds me of “he loves me, he loves me not.” LOL… I just really like the simplicity of it.

This is an honest to goodness great  read for a teen. There are no sexual encounters, but just a sweet first kiss. Basically, the book is about 2 teenage girls actually having to figure out whom they are as individuals. Not what everyone around them sees, but the real person inside the body.

Tess and Kristina are sisters. Kristina is the beautiful athletic type that all the boys fall all over. Tess….she is a brainiac whom gets ignored by mostly everyone and she has one friend. The book starts when Kristina convinces Tess to come to a party. Although, Tess feels awkward and ignored, she stays for a while and later makes an exit. She did meet a few people at the party, but figures that they only talked to her because of her sister.

Things take a turn for the worst when the family finds out that Kristina has cancer. The whole family takes a toll and it seems the only one that can deal with any of it is Tess.

Throughout the book, Tess goes through many changes and starts realizing that things are not always what they look like from the outside. She learns a lot about her sister, her best friend, boys and even herself.

Now, although the book did not exactly end the way that I would have wanted it to. (I wanted a certain boy to still be in the picture) I still thought it was a great read and it is definitely a book that I would give to my thirteen year old to check out.  Another book by Ms. Gurtler that I am interested to check out is If I Tell, coming out in October 2011.

Author:

Heather is a happily married wife & Mom of 2 daughters and three four legged kids. She began her addiction to reading with the Twilight Saga. Mainly she reads anything in the young adult genre and is always on the lookout for the newest bestseller!

Talk to me!

