South of Salem by Janni Nell (Allegra Fairweather Mystery #2)


 

“Keep your voice down. We don’t want everyone to know your profession. Now we won’t mention the P word again until we’re in the car.” I asked innocently, “Which P word is that? Paranormal, possessed or Profession?”

 

 

Published: May 30, 2011

Publisher: Carina Press

Received: Via Netgalley with permission from publisher in exchange for a review

Purchase: Amazon

Goodreads Blurb:

My mother thinks my job is crazy. I’ m a paranormal investigator; she’ s Nancy Reagan crossed with Martha Stewart. She’ s always preferred my sister, Lily, who is following in her perfect footsteps.

But this time Mom needs my special skills. She believes my stepfather is possessed. I admit he’ s not his usual dapper, charming self, but sleepwalking doesn’ t sound that weird. Until the sleepwalking spreads through the family and cousin Donna walks right out of her apartment window to her death. Then my sister goes missing and I have to find her and solve the mystery before Lily and her unborn child are harmed.

Normally I would have assistance, but my right hand, a hunky angel I’ ve nicknamed Casper, has business of his own to take care of—business that might take him out of my life forever. The stakes are too high for me to lose, but I’ m not sure I can do it alone…

My Review:

This was a great read! I was a little nervous about not reading the first in the series..would I understand what was going on? Definitely!!! You do not need to read the first book to get wrapped up in the story.

The whole storyline was great and I loved Allegra’s attitude. She is sassy and smart. Her mother on the other hand, is totally annoying. One of those characters that is always worried about what everyone else will think. She is totally embarrassed by Allegra and although, their relationship did improve in this book, I still think Lily is her favorite. Which brings me to Lily….SNOBBY with a capital S. It’s all about her. It’s no wonder Allegra wants to move away from her family…they are crazy!

But Casper……aaaahhhh! He was like a breath of fresh air. Very swoonworthy:) Their relationship is very complicated and I really enjoy that aspect. It gives the reader something to look forward to in future books!

I really would like to read the first book in the series, Allegra Fairweather: Paranormal Investigator. I will be on the lookout for it.

This book is very appropriate for a teen or adult! Mark it on your to-read list!

One comment

Talk to me!

