Legacy by Cayla Kluver


“And I can no more stop worrying about you than I can stop myself from breathing.”

Publish Date: June 28, 2011

Publisher: Forsooth Publishing

Received: Via Netgalley with permission from the publisher in exchange of a review

Purchase: Amazon

Goodreads Blurb:

The first boy disappeared on the day of his birth, on a night when the pale yellow moon of the nighttime sky turned red and bathed the heavens in the ghastly color of blood, on the same night the Kingdom of Cokyri abruptly ceased its merciless attack.

Across the land of Hytanica, under the shadow of the crimson moon, infant boys continued to vanish. Not until the blood had faded from the sky did the disappearances stop and the bodies of the murdered infants were found outside the gates of the city, a final word from the greatest enemy Hytanica had ever known. For the next sixteen years, peace reigned, but one mystery remained unsolved. The Cokyrians had abducted forty-nine newborns, but returned only forty-eight bodies.

Now, as seventeen-year-old Princess Alera of Hytanica is besieged from all sides by suitors vying for the Throne, a teenage Cokyrian boy, Narian, is encountered within the walls of her Kingdom, a boy who will show Alera a world where women serve a purpose and not just a husband. As Narian helps Alera find her voice, she struggles against an arranged marriage that will shatter the life she has scarcely begun to live. And when Narian’s shocking past is uncovered, and war with Cokyri looms once more, he must fight to defy a fate ordained at his birth.

My Review:

UGH!!! This was left in kind of a cliffhanger. I do not know if I can wait until the next book comes out?? Although, I really do not have a choice.

Okay, I have to start off by mentioning the author. Miss Kluver is very young and had written this book in her freshman year of high school. I think she is only like 19 now. I am very excited to continue to follow her throughout her future writing endeavors.

Gosh, what can I say about this book except it was excellent!!! It really kept me on my toes. I feel really bad for Princess Alera, having her life chosen for her. Right down to whom she would marry. I did shed some tears for her especially toward the end of the book being able to feel her pain and sorrow as she felt that her life was spinning out of control!!

I enjoyed the relationship between Alera and her sister, although, I remember thinking how awkward it was that they could go days without seeing each other while living under the same roof.

Narian and Steldor….well, well, well. Two very different men fighting for the love of the same woman. Steldor is the type of guy that all girls swoon over and he knows he is swoonworthy which makes him conceited! While Narian seems to only have eyes for the Princess and is not afraid to show it only to her. I really liked the fact that Alera kept going back and forth between the two men. I must say though, that I was heartbroken at the end and really hoping that they could have come to a resolution.

I am really excited about this book and highly recommend it to anyone whom loves historical fiction. It was a long read with over 450 pages and at times, it did seem to drag on, but was well worth it. I am looking forward to the next book in the series, Allegiant.

4 comments

Talk to me!

