Sometimes It Happens by Lauren Barnholdt


Today is the first day of senior year, I’m terrified. This is because there is a very good chance that at some point today I will:

a. lose the love of my life, b. lose my best friend, or c. have an awkward encounter with the boy who broke my heart last year. (Note: This is a different boy than the previously mentioned love of my life. [See a.])

Publisher: Simon Pulse

Publish Date: July 12, 2011

Received: Simon & Schuster Galley Grab

Purchase: Amazon

Goodreads Blurb:

On the last day of her junior year, Hannah’s boyfriend Sebastian dumped her. Facing a summer of loneliness, Hannah turns to her best friend Ava for comfort. Ava does what BFFs do: she stays by Hannah’s side…until it’s time for Ava to head up to Maine for the summer. Also left behind is Ava’s boyfriend, Noah, who’s such a great guy he gets Hannah a job at the diner he waits tables at. Slowly, Hannah comes out of her funk thanks to Noah’s good conversation and their fun times at the diner. But things get complicated when their friendship turns into attraction–and one night, into a passionate kiss.

The novel opens on the first day of senior year; the day Hannah is going to see Ava, Sebastian, and Noah all in one place. Over the course of the day secrets and betrayals are revealed, and alliances are broken and reformed. In the end, everyone is paired up once again, but not the way you might think…

My Review:

This is the first book that I have read by Lauren Barnholdt. I really enjoyed it. I am not sure if it was a short read, or if I just could not stop reading to get to the end? But, I finished it in one evening.

Hannah, the main character, is my favorite. She is hilarious!! I love some of the things that go on in her head. They seriously make you laugh out loud! Throughout the book, I was really rooting for her to come out on top! My least favorite would have to be Ava, Hannah’s BFF. There is just something about her that I do not trust. She is very bossy and basically tells Hannah what to do.

Noah & Sebastian…..Sebastian is definitely a player, but Noah…….**AAAHHHHH*** he is so sweet, nice, smart and handsome.

Although, I enjoyed this book, it was a little predictable. I kind of figured out what would happen before it did. I am happy with the way the book ended, but not how it ended. If that makes any sense? I was happy with the way the story went, but it seemed like it just abruptly ended. I wanted to see how everything worked out. So many more questions were in my mind that I did not have answers to. I would recommend this book to someone whom wanted a quick read!

After reading, I am still quite interested in other titles by this author, I will have to get my hands on some soon!

One comment

Talk to me!

