Changing My Wardrobe by Deb Hanrahan & Author Interview


But our two groups only had a brief span of peaceful coexistence before our lives grew increasingly intertwined, causing a chain of events that would alter our futures forever.

Publisher: Philyra Publishing LLC

Publish Date: May 16, 2011

Received: Directly from author in exchange for a review

Purchase: Amazon

Goodreads Blurb:

Incoming freshman, Lindsey Ames, wants to take Italian, and she wants to join the National Honor Society.
She wants a new image, and she wants better clothes.
She wants Avery to stop tormenting her, and she wants Marco to ask her out.
She wants Jocelyn to go away, but she wants Grouper to be happy.
She wants to save Teeny’s reputation, but she doesn’t want to lose everything.
Will Lindsey find the courage to stand up to her enemies before it’s too late?

My Review:

I must start off by saying that this book is haunting. It left me thinking about it still, for hours and days after reading it. I am going to try to do my best here without spoiling anything for anyone.

Lindsey has always been a nerd and when she is about to start her first day of high school, she is looking for a change. She seeks the advice of her BFF, Teeny to help. Teeny is more than willing to help Lindsey finally break free of Avery and her minions. Avery has made Lindsey’s junior high years difficult. She is always teasing her and making her feel stupid and low.

Throughout the book you get a look at what a typical few months in high school can be like for a teenager. The worries of homework, grades, friends and often…bullying. The group of friends try very hard to come up with different ways to keep Avery and her friends at bay. It’s not until they think that they have everything figured out that things seem to really heat up!

The ending will SHOCK YOU!!! That is what haunts me the most…it takes a terrible thing for Lindsey to finally figure out that what she really wanted in the end was to be with her loved ones. And after everything she goes through and what she fights for, she loses.

That is about all that I can say without revealing too much. You will just have to read the book for yourself. I highly recommend it for a young teen and I think that I might just pass it on to my 13-year-old tonight to read. Although this book is a work of fiction, tragedies happen like this everyday.

Author Interview:

How did you come up with the title of the book?

Coming up with the title, Changing My Wardrobe, was tough.  The first title that I wanted to use was already a published title, so I obviously needed to come up with something else. I spent several hours just lying on my couch thinking of what the book is really about. When Changing My Wardrobe popped into my head, I was happy.  I liked the way it conveyed literally and figuratively the plot of the story.   

 What were the challenges to getting the book published?

The worst part of publishing was querying agents.  This was not fun, and after about six weeks of that, I decided to go indie.  I had a blast with every aspect of indie publishing.  I learned a ton of computer stuff and met a bunch of new people.  Everyone in the indie world has been so helpful and nice, and I didn’t lose one bit of creative control over my project.

 What book are you reading right now?

I’m reading several books at the moment.

The Witching Hour by Ann Rice

Red Dead Heart by indie author RP Dahlke

The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo by Steig Larsson

And

The Five Love Languages of Teenagers by Gary Chapman

 When did you write your first book and how old were you?

This is the first book that I completed, and I am 45. I have started books in the past but always talked myself down and disposed of my work.  I finally got to a point where I had to see if I could do it.

 Do you have any advice for other writers?

Don’t let a negative internal dialogue keep you from completing your goals. You have more to lose by not following through. Take one-step at a time and just do it (this was my mantra every morning while writing my book.)

 What are you currently working on?

Throughout the summer, I will be marketing Changing My Wardrobe. I am brainstorming ideas for a sequel to Changing My Wardrobe as well as a middle grade outdoor adventure novel, Camp Crooked Creek.  I plan to start writing again in late August, early September.

* Thank you to Deb Hanrahan for this review copy and taking the time to answer my interview questions. Good luck with your book this summer!

3 comments

Talk to me!

