Beauty Queens by Libba Bray


“I’ve had so many bikini waxes, I cry every time I see a Popsicle stick.”

           and another…….

“You want to know what pain is? Try running out of Advil when you’ve got a Category Five period. I’ve had cramps that would make grown men beg for a bullet between the eyes.”

 

Publisher: Scholastic

Publish Date: May 24, 2011

Received: Library

Purchase: Amazon

 

Goodreads Blurb:

The fifty contestants in the Miss Teen Dream pageant thought this was going to be a fun trip to the beach, where they could parade in their state-appropriate costumes and compete in front of the cameras. But sadly, their airplane had another idea crashing on a desert island and leaving the survivors stranded with little food, little water, and practically no eyeliner.

What’s a beauty queen to do? Continue to practice for the talent portion of the program–or wrestle snakes to the ground? Get a perfect tan–or learn to run wild? And what should happen when the sexy pirates show up?

Welcome to the heart of non-exfoliated darkness. Your tour guide? None other than Libba Bray, the hilarious, sensational, Printz Award-winning author of A Great and Terrible Beauty and Going Bovine. The result is a novel that will make you laugh, make you think, and make you never see beauty the same way again.

My Review:

I didn’t expect to enjoy this book as much as I did. Honestly, I just picked it up because of the cover. I had not even read the blurb on the cover before checking it out and taking it home.

This book was hilarious! My favorite part was the “A word from your sponsors” at the beginning and at the end. I even enjoyed the commercial breaks.

At first when I started reading I thought “oh boy, a bunch of airheads stranded on an island” and they were so funny! But, of course, by the end of the book, I was really proud of each and every one of them for what they had accomplished and found within themselves.

My favorite character is Adina, Miss New Hampshire. She was very head strong from the beginning and even with everything that they had gone through, she had softened a little by the end, but still held her ground with what she believed in.

Ms. Bray wrote a laugh out loud funny novel while trying to prove to the wold that sometimes beauty does come with brains and that it takes a lot of will power to be a beauty queen!

4 comments

  1. I’m really excited for this book! I have it waiting for me on my shelf and I’ve read such great reviews. I’m glad you liked it! I’m interested by the commercial breaks… that should be different.

    Like

Talk to me!

