Posted in 2011, June

Two Way Street by Lauren Barnholdt


“Last year I kissed this freshman girl at a pool party and she wouldn’t get off my nuts for six months. Which is why my policy is now no psychotics, and no freshmen. The freshmen thing is obviously easy to avoid, while the psychotics pose a bit more of a problem. It’s not like girls walk around with “I’m crazy” stamped on their chests.”

Publisher: Simon Pulse

Publish Date: June 26, 2007

Received: Bought

Purchase: Amazon

Goodreads Blurb:

This is Jordan and Courtney, totally in love. Sure, they were an unlikely high school couple. But they clicked; it worked. They’re even going to the same college, and driving cross-country together for orientation.

Then Jordan dumps Courtney — for a girl he met on the Internet.

It’s too late to change plans, so the road trip is on. Courtney’s heartbroken, but figures she can tough it out for a few days. La la la — this is Courtney pretending not to care.

But in a strange twist, Jordan cares. A lot.

Turns out, he’s got a secret or two that he’s not telling Courtney. And it has everything to do with why they broke up, why they can’t get back together, and how, in spite of it all, this couple is destined for each other.

My Review:

This is only the second book that I had read by Ms. Barnholdt. I really enjoy her writing style.

The one part that I enjoyed most of this book was the different points of view. I enjoyed getting a look into Jordan’s head as well as Courtney’s. Courtney was very, very funny. The thoughts that she had made me laugh out loud. It was interesting to see a guy’s perspective in Jordan also and it made me wonder if guys really use strategies like this to “get the girl” so to speak?

Courtney’s dad was awful! What a douche! sorry, but it had to be said.

I was happy with the way the book had ended, not too happy, but happy enough. This was a short read and I read the whole book in one sitting.

Author:

Heather is a happily married wife & Mom of 2 daughters and three four legged kids. She began her addiction to reading with the Twilight Saga. Mainly she reads anything in the young adult genre and is always on the lookout for the newest bestseller!

3 thoughts on “Two Way Street by Lauren Barnholdt

Talk to me!

