Posted in 2011, July

But I Love Him by Amanda Grace/Mandy Hubbard


“What do you do when the one person you want comfort from the most is the one who caused your pain? How can I want so desperately for him to wrap me up in his arms but also want so much for him to leave me alone.”

Publisher: Flux

Publish Date: May 8, 2011

Received: Purchased

Purchase: Amazon

Goodreads Blurb:

At the beginning of senior year, Ann was a smiling, straight-A student and track star with friends and a future. Then she met a haunted young man named Connor. Only she can heal his emotional scars; only he could make her feel so loved — and needed. Ann can’t recall the pivotal moment it all changed, when she surrendered everything to be with him, but by graduation, her life has become a dangerous high wire act. Just one mistake could trigger Connor’s rage, a senseless storm of cruel words and violence damaging everything — and everyone — in its path.

This evocative slideshow of flashbacks reveals a heartbreaking story of love gone terribly wrong.

My Review:

Whew! What a whirlwind of heartbreak this story was! I had my eye on this book for a while now and finally decided to purchase it. It actually arrived yesterday and I was determined to finish it before slumbering last night. This was an easy task since the book held my attention until the very end.

Gosh, as I sit here to write this review, I still cannot wrap my head around it. I have so many emotions and thoughts running through my head, so please just bear with me.

The book starts off in the present time of right now with Ann being battered and broken lying on the floor after Connor has went on a tirade. Connor has left and she fears him coming back, but also in the back of her mind she is hopeful that he returns and just wraps her in his arms and holds her. The reader gets to see their relationship through flashbacks going backwards from the end to the very beginning. It was interesting to read a book this way, but, it did put you more in touch with the characters.

Connor and Ann’s relationship started out great. Ann was aware of his trouble at home and had decided and put all of her effort into helping him. Before she even realized what was happening, she had pushed everyone away and actually lost herself in the process. She literally lived every day for Connor. Connor knew what he was doing to Ann and even had begged her to leave a few times because he really did love her and did not want to be like his father. I felt a sense of sadness for Connor and just like Ann had wished that his mother could have been a stronger person and leave his dad so that maybe he would not have such anger issues himself. The writer did a great job at showing different scenarios in which made you love Connor and understand why Ann had such a deep connection to him. I would have liked to really read more. I was curious as to what had happened with Connor when the book ended.

This book was a huge eye opener for me. Especially when you see battered woman all the time and you just do not understand. It would be so easy for them to walk away? Not so much when they put their heart and soul into this relationship and they keep thinking that things will be different. I will remember this next time I think that to myself. I was once in a bad relationship, not physical but psychological, I had enough strength to just walk away. Some woman do not.

I thank Ms. Hubbard a.k.a Amanda Grace for opening our eyes to the world of domestic violence and make each and every one of us realize that things aren’t always what you see on the outside. It’s on the inside that hurts the most!

Author:

Heather is a happily married wife & Mom of 2 daughters and three four legged kids. She began her addiction to reading with the Twilight Saga. Mainly she reads anything in the young adult genre and is always on the lookout for the newest bestseller!

One thought on “But I Love Him by Amanda Grace/Mandy Hubbard

Talk to me!

