Posted in 2011, Review-A-Thon

Monster Review-a-thon


Fellow bloggers at The Book Monster are hosting a review-a-thon from August 7th August 12th. This is a time to catch up on some books that have been sitting on the shelf to review or writing the review that has not been written as of yet. There are daily mini-challenges and I will be posting about them.

 

 

Mini Challenge #1 Re-Thinking your review format….

1. Are you happy with your review format currently?
2. Scrutinize it a little more, maybe compare it to other blogs you like, anything you think you might change?
3. Implement some basic changes and tell us what you think. Or, you can tell us one or two aspects of your reviews that you like.

I have done my format a couple of different ways and recently have added on the publishing info as well as where I had received the book. I have also started by giving the goodreads blurb followed by my review of the book. I really like this format and feel that I am giving the readers as much info on the book as possible. I will even add a link to goodreads if there will be another book in the series.

I figure that the best way to find out if my format is a good one is to ask my followers….So, do you, the readers like the format that I have chosen or is there any suggestions on how it can be improved???

Mini Challenge #2 Cross Posting your Reviews…..

As reviewers, we tend use multiple book related sites: Goodreads… Amazon… LibraryThing… and these are just the tip of the iceburg. Each site has their own benefits and reasons for why we use them. But if you are like us, then you have a really bad habit of putting off adding them to other sites.
That is where today’s mini-challenge comes in. Your mini-challenge… if you choose to accept it… is working (or starting) in cross posting your reviews.
 
I ALWAYS cross-post my reviews to goodreads and amazon. I figure that if I am telling an author or publishing company that I will post a review somewhere, then I better keep to my word and post it!
 

Update…

So far, I have read 2 review books this past weekend:

and

 

 

 

 

 

Look for the reviews to come…..

Author:

Heather is a happily married wife & Mom of 2 daughters and three four legged kids. She began her addiction to reading with the Twilight Saga. Mainly she reads anything in the young adult genre and is always on the lookout for the newest bestseller!

2 thoughts on “Monster Review-a-thon

  1. Hi NightlyReading 🙂
    Same here; I always cross-post too. Most of the review requests have only required me to post in one place but since all it takes is a quick copy n paste, I figure why not share the review on all the places I socialize about books.

    Like

  2. Thanks for joining in on the challenge! We also add a goodreads blurb to our reviews, makes it easier to show what it’s about without having to redetail it ourselves. As for cross-posting, I am working on posting all my past reviews on Amazon, which is quite a task. In the past I’ve only posted to Goodreads.

    Keep up the reading and reviewing!

    Like

Talk to me!

