Posted in 2011, August, Giveaways!

Half-Blood by Jennifer Armentrout & Dirty Blood Update & Giveaway!


“You better have had a baby, killed someone, or slept with a pure. Those are your three options. Anything less is unsuitable.”

Publisher: Spencer Hill Press

Publish Date: September 15, 2011

Received: From publisher in exchange for a fair review.

Purchase: Amazon

Goodreads Blurb:

The Hematoi descend from the unions of gods and mortals, and the children of two Hematoi pure-bloods have godlike powers. Children of Hematoi and mortals well, not so much. Half-bloods only have two options: become trained Sentinels who hunt and kill daimons or become servants in the homes of the pures.

Seventeen-year-old Alexandria would rather risk her life fighting than waste it scrubbing toilets, but she may end up slumming it anyway. There are several rules that students at the Covenant must follow. Alex has problems with them all, but especially rule #1:

Relationships between pures and halfs are forbidden.

Unfortunately, she’s crushing hard on the totally hot pure-blood Aiden. But falling for Aiden isn’t her biggest problem–staying alive long enough to graduate the Covenant and become a Sentinel is. If she fails in her duty, she faces a future worse than death or slavery: being turned into a daimon, and being hunted by Aiden. And that would kind of suck.

My Review:

Another great book! Ms. Armentrout has created a world filled with magic and danger.

My favorite character, of course, is Alexandria. Who wouldn’t love her? She is funny and definitely a smart a$$! I really enjoyed getting inside her head and reading exactly what she was thinking even if it was not said out loud. I also enjoyed the storyline involving her mother. I do wish though that we could have gotten a better glimpse at her relationship with her mother, it still left me saddened at the way the story ended.

Aiden was another great character. Okay…you got me! Just add him to the list of my book boyfriends. (which is growing rapidly by the way) I do think that he may be hitting the top! Aiden is so protective over Alex and he tries to keep his feelings in check, although, sometimes, he just cannot help it. He is very sweet, handsome and witty. Alex keeps him on his toes, but he is able to keep up with her. Move over Dimka, there is a new boy in town:)

This book reminded me a lot of Vampire Academy. If you loved VA, you will love this series. It has the same idea of godlike teacher and bad a$$ student, but with a whole different storyline. The author has added enough twists that it will keep your interest and make you want to read more! I really, really enjoyed it and was bummed when I arrived at the end. I could have just kept going and going just to find out where it all goes from here!

There is a prequel novella that can be downloaded on goodreads if you would like to read it called Daimon (Covenant 0.5).

The next book in the series, Pure, comes out in April 2012. I CAN”T WAIT!!!!

Dirty Blood Update:

New Cover Reveal:

A little something about Dirty Blood: I killed a girl last night. I did it with my bare hands and an old piece of pipe I found lying next to the dumpster. But that’s not the part that got me. The part that scared me, the part I can’t seem to wrap my head around and still has me reeling, was that when she charged me, her body shifted – and then she was a wolf. All snapping teeth and extended claws. But by the time I stood over her lifeless body, she was a girl again. That’s about the time I went into shock… And that was the moment he showed up.[Soft Break][Soft Break]Now, all I can do is accept the truths that are staring me in the face. One, Werewolves do exist. And two, I was born to kill them.

Dirty Blood has received a facelift! Check out the brand new cover for Heather Hildenbrand’s newest YA paranormal romance, now available as an ebook on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Smashwords and other major ebook retail outlets for just $0.99! Also available in paperback from Amazon or CreateSpace for $11 plus shipping, or visit her website at www.heatherhildenbrand.blogspot.com for more information or to order a signed copy.

A note from Heather Hildenbrand:

Thanks so much for all the support from readers and fans that have already made this book a huge success for me. I hope you love the new cover just as much as I do! As a thank you, I’m offering a giveaway! A free ebook (format of your choice) to a lucky winner. Also, thanks to my bloggers for helping to reveal the new cover in style! I couldn’t do this without you!

Be sure to check in with my blog for the cover reveal of Book 2: Cold Blood, which is scheduled for unveiling in September. Cold Blood is due to release in November.

Thanks for stopping by!

My review of Dirty Blood can be found HERE!

Fill out the form to be entered in the contest:

Thank you Heather for offering this giveaway!!! Winner will be chosen using Random.org on August 25, 2011.

 

Author:

Heather is a happily married wife & Mom of 2 daughters and three four legged kids. She began her addiction to reading with the Twilight Saga. Mainly she reads anything in the young adult genre and is always on the lookout for the newest bestseller!

5 thoughts on “Half-Blood by Jennifer Armentrout & Dirty Blood Update & Giveaway!

Talk to me!

