Vampire in Denial by Dale Mayer


The first few lines…

Being part vampire played havoc on her love life.

She didn’t need her dates for their blood. In fact, she had this thing against young male blood. Horrible tasting stuff.

Not that she’d tell them that. At least not on first meet.

And she rarely got a second.

Publisher: Valley Publishing

Publish Date: August 1, 2011

Received: Via author in exchange for a fair review

Purchase a copy: Amazon

Goodreads Blurb:

Like being a sixteen-year-old vampire isn’t hard enough, Tessa’s throwback human genes make her an outcast among her relatives. But try as she might, she can’t get a handle on the vampire lifestyle and all the…blood.

Turning her back on the vamp world, she embraces the human teenage lifestyle—high school, peer pressure and finding a boyfriend. Jared manages to stir something in her blood. He’s smart and fun and oh, so cute. But Tessa’s dream of a having the perfect boyfriend turns into a nightmare when vampires attack the movie theatre and kidnaps her date.

Once again, Tessa finds herself torn between the human world and the vampire one. Will blood own out? Can she make peace with who she is as well as what?

My Review:

Ms. Mayer had sent me an email asking if I would like to review her work. I took a look at it and thought what the heck, what do I have to lose? As soon as I received the ecopy, I started reading. I have a bad habit of reading the first chapter of books to see if I get hooked or not. Of course, this one hooked me and I had to keep reading til the end.

I love vampire stories! I can never get tired of them and yes! (call me a dork!) I LOVE Twilight! So, as soon as I start reading anything with a vampire theme, I am sucked in. This book did exactly what I expected it to do…engrossed me into the story. I loved the little twist that was given to your typical vampire story. You had the not being able to go out in sunlight, but these vampires lived among humans and had their own separate schools and night-time activities. Except, of course for our lovely leading lady, whom is half vampire, half human.

Tess is a great female lead. Very strong-willed and would not give up. Even when she was told that she wasn’t fast enough or strong enough, she was not going to give in! Cody is also amazing and I love reading about the relationship between him and Tessa. It was fun to see how Tessa just blossomed right before Cody’s eyes and it was like he was just seeing her for the first time.

As you all are aware of already, I like reading books with a couple different points of view. We get to see three different POV’s in this book and I absolutely loved it!

Okay, that ending was a total cliffhanger and a shocker! Just when you thought it would be safe and actually, I was expecting an intimate moment between Tessa and Cody. But instead…WHAMO…the end!!! Apparently this is only book one in a series called The Blood Ties Series. I am super excited to know when book 2 will arrive and hoping that maybe I can review that one also!

Highly recommended book for the Vampire lover in all of us! Thanks to Dale Mayer for introducing me to this wacky cast of characters and a great new series!!!

Talk to me!

