Posted in 2011, August

The Hollow by Jessica Verday & Dirty Blood Winner Revealed!


“Are you going to be all right now? No more tears? I don’t know how to handle crying girls. Every time my five-year-old sister turns on the waterworks, I end up buying her a Barbie. You don’t need a new Barbie, do you?”

Publisher: Simon Pulse

Publish Date: September 1, 2009

Received: Via a book swap

Purchase a copy: Amazon

Goodreads Blurb:

I watched out and touched the casket lid. It was cold. So cold that I immediately snatched my hand away. It almost felt like it had burned me.
I just stood there. I couldn’t bring myself to say anything… not out loud, at least. But a thousand thoughts raged inside my head, while a thousand feelings raged inside my heart.
The weather mimicked my emotions. A fierce wind rattled by, howling in outrage. The edges of the plastic awning flapped angrily against the aluminum poles holding it up and made a horrible ringing sound. Even the rain pounded harder, lashing out its bitterness.
And that was when I felt someone watching me.

My Review:

I loved the storyline for this book. The setting was located in a creepy cemetery surrounded by The Legend of Sleepy Hollow. Yes, Headless Horseman and all.

I was saddened for Abbey when she lost her best friend. Her sadness puts her into a depression and the only person that could pull her out of it was Caspian. Ahh…Caspian, how dreemy..literally! I knew their relationship was doomed when he would only meet her in the cemetary. I was not a big fan of his at first, but the more that I read, the more I started to like him.

The cast of characters in this book were zany. From Nikolas and Katy, the undertakers at the cemetary, to Ben, a friend from school. They all have their little quirks and you find out all of your suspicions by the end of the book. Except for Ben, whom I still do not trust either!

It took me a while to actually get into this book. It started off kind of slow and there were some lulls, but I ended up finishing it. I can’t wait to start the next book in the trilogy, The Haunted.

“At that moment – in that small, concise, perfectly clear moment of time – I knew. It was that moment I fell in love with him. It actually caused me to stop, and time froze for just a second. But that feeling was so right, and so strong, that I knew I wasn’t wrong.”

Dirty Blood Winner:

Adrianga

Congratulations! You will receive your ebook directly from the author soon!

Author:

Heather is a happily married wife & Mom of 2 daughters and three four legged kids. She began her addiction to reading with the Twilight Saga. Mainly she reads anything in the young adult genre and is always on the lookout for the newest bestseller!

4 thoughts on “The Hollow by Jessica Verday & Dirty Blood Winner Revealed!

Talk to me!

