The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin


“Why—”
“I am taking away that word. You are no longer allowed to use it. How many?”
My cheeks flushed, but my voice was steady as I answered. “One.”
At this, Noah leaned in impossibly closer, the slender muscles in his forearm flexing as he bent his elbow to bring himself nearer to me, almost touching. I was heady with the proximity of him and grew legitimately concerned that my heart might explode. Maybe Noah wasn’t asking. Maybe I didn’t mind. I closed my eyes and felt Noah’s five o’ clock graze my jaw, and the faintest whisper of his lips at my ear.
“He was doing it wrong.”

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Children’s

Publish Date: September 27, 2011

Received: Via publisher in exchange for a fair review

Purchase a copy: Amazon

Goodreads Blurb:

Mara Dyer doesn’t think life can get any stranger than waking up in a hospital with no memory of how she got there.

It can.

She believes there must be more to the accident she can’t remember that killed her friends and left her mysteriously unharmed.

There is.

She doesn’t believe that after everything she’s been through, she can fall in love.

She’s wrong.

My Review:

I cannot even begin to tell you how amazing this book was! Just look at the beautiful cover and it will draw you in immediately!

The storyline was very different and full of suspense right up until the end. I loved every minute of reading this book. You really had to pay attention at the end, but was so worth it. The ending was shocking and one that will not be expected.

Mara Dyer is a great character that would just like to be normal. I really felt for her with everything that she was going through. From the whole accident involving her friends, to now seeing hallucinations. That is enough to drive any person over the edge, but she tried to keep on moving along.

Ahhh, Noah Shaw…is kind of a cross between Patch Cipriano and Edward Cullen. So to my surprise, I think I found my new book boyfriend! He can be a sexy smart a$$ one minute and a complete gentlemen the next.

The relationship between the two main characters starts off really slow and of course Mara is trying to put the cabash on it from the get go…unsuccessfully I might add.

I could probably go on and on ranting about this book, but it is definitely one that you need to check out for yourself! I am assuming that there will be a book 2 and absolutely cannot wait until I have it in my hot little hands!

“You want me as much as I want you. And all I want is you.”
My tongue warred with my mind. “Today,” I whispered.
Noah stood slowly, his body skimming mine as he rose. “Today. Tonight. Tomorrow. Forever.”

3 comments

  1. This is definitely One Of Those kind of books. The kind that grips you tight from page one and still has a hold of you long after you’ve read the last sentence on the last page. The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer is a stunning and impressive debut novel from Michelle Hodkin. I found it absolutely captivating, riveting, smart, highly original, and brilliantly written and developed.

    Like

Talk to me!

