The Predicteds by Christine Seifert


“Hey,” he calls after I walk away. I stop and turn just a few feet from him. “I’m glad you…” He trails off. “I’m glad you’re okay.” “Me too.” I look over the tops of my sunglasses. “Me too,” I repeat.

Published on September 1, 2011 by Sourcebooks.

Received review copy from publisher for this review.

Your future is not your own…

“We wanted to know what makes a good kid good and a bad kid bad. Can you blame us for that? We found an astoundingly, marvelously simple answer: The brain isn’t so much a complicated machine as it is a crystal ball. If you look into it, you will see everything you want to know.”
-Dr. Mark Miliken, senior researcher at Utopia Laboratories

Who will it be?
Will the head cheerleader get pregnant?
Is the student council president a secret drug addict?

The whole school is freaking out about PROFILE, an experimental program that can predict students’ future behavior.

The only question Daphne wants answered is whether Jesse will ask her out…but he’s a Predicted, and there’s something about his future he’s not telling her.

My Review:

The idea for this book amazed me. What would you do if we could early profile criminals and seek out their intentions early on in life to keep watch before they commit the crime? That is exactly what this book is based on. You take a bunch of high school kids, ask them some questions and the lab spits out a list of whom would be “The Predicted“.

The premise of this book very much intrigued me. To comprehend actually being able to do this had me on the fence. On one hand it would be great to shove the would be criminals to the side and never have to worry about violence. On the other hand , the world would turn into chaos and those poor people would get thrown into a category without even doing anything wrong yet. This is exactly how the book is portrayed.

Daphne is having a hard time wrestling with herself about her feelings on “The Predicteds“. She does not know what to feel or think. Especially when the love of her life may be just like them. Does she follow in the path of her friends and everyone else around her or does she create her own footsteps and step out of the box?

This book was very enjoyable and it definitely made me think. The characters were an interesting blend and the romance was unique. There was no mushy gushy love story, but an honest to goodness relationship filled with doubt and questioning.

I highly recommend this book! I have to say that one of my favorite parts of the book were the intros to each chapter. The interviews were interesting and let the reader in on a little bit more about each character.

“What else did he say?” Jesse insists, and for the second time ever, I feel uneasy with him.

“Nothing,” I say.

“Daphne, they say I’m predicted, but there has to be some mistake. That’s not who I am.”

“I’m hearing a lot about who you are.”

“And you’re saying that you believe it all?”

“Jesse, I don’t know.”

One comment

  1. The premise for this book sounds a lot like the premise of Minority Report – it’s really interesting and I really liked that movie. I’ll have to keep an eye out for this book!

    Like

Talk to me!

