Posted in 2011, September

Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl


“She leaned into my shoulder. “Maybe you don’t have to be a Caster to have power.”
I pushed her hair behind her ear. “Maybe you just have to fall for one.”

Listened to Audio CD Published in 2010 by Hatchette Audio.

Received from Hatchette Audio for this review.

There were no surprises in Gatlin County.
We were pretty much the epicenter of the middle of nowhere.

At least, that’s what I thought.
Turns out, I couldn’t have been more wrong.
There was a curse.
There was a girl.
And in the end, there was a grave.

Lena DuchannesĀ is unlike anyone the small Southern town of Gatlin has ever seen, and she’s struggling to conceal her power and a curse that has haunted her family for generations. But even within the overgrown gardens, murky swamps and crumbling graveyards of the forgotten South, a secret cannot stay hidden forever.

Ethan Wate, who has been counting the months until he can escape from Gatlin, is haunted by dreams of a beautiful girl he has never met. When Lena moves into the town’s oldest and most infamous plantation, Ethan is inexplicably drawn to her and determined to uncover the connection between them.

In a town with no surprises, one secret could change everything.

My Review:

It took me 3 weeks to finish listening to this book. The original book has 563 pages, so that makes up for 17 hours of audiobook. BUT, it only took the first chapter to get me sucked into this world full of casters set in the south.

The book starts off with Ethan having a dream of this girl and losing her. When he awakes, he is soaked and confused. This was a fantastic start to the book and it literally reeled me in to find out more of the story.

The cast of characters are amazing! There are so many that it is hard to keep them straight, but the narrator did a wonderful job! I would have to say that my favorite parts had included Ethan’s aunts. The sisters are very elderly and very entertaining! Of course, Ethan’s point of view on them helped also!

Aunt Mercy put down her tiles, one at a time. I-T-C-H-I-N.
Aunt Grace leaned closer to the board, squinting. “Mercy Lynne, you’re cheatin’ again! What kinda word is that? Use it in a sentence.”
“I’m itchin’ ta have some a that white cake.”
“That’s not how you spell it.” At least one of them could spell. Aunt Grace pulled one of the tiles off the board. “There’s no T in itchin’.

Or not.

I really enjoyed the narrator and felt that he used his voice very well to distinguish between the characters. There is one chapter towards the end of the book that I am assuming is from Lena’s point of view, since the narrator changed to a woman. It was only for one chapter though and I was glad that we got right back to Ethan’s thoughts.

All loose ends get tied up by the end of the book. Although, I felt that the book probably could have been a tad bit shorter, I really enjoyed getting to know all of these characters and really being able to get a feel for their way of life. The ending was the perfect set up for the next book in the series, Beautiful Darkness. I have it set already on my eReader and will hopefully get to it soon!

Author:

Heather is a happily married wife & Mom of 2 daughters and three four legged kids. She began her addiction to reading with the Twilight Saga. Mainly she reads anything in the young adult genre and is always on the lookout for the newest bestseller!

2 thoughts on “Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl

Talk to me!

