Posted in 2011, October

My Soul to Take by Rachel Vincent


“His name’s Nash.”
Aunt Val took a butter knife from the silverware drawer. “What year is he?”
I groaned inwardly. “Senior.” …here we go …
Her smile was a little too enthusiastic. “Well that’s wonderful!”
Of course, what she really meant was “Rise from the shadows, social leper, and walk in the bright light of acceptance!”

Published by Harlequin on August 29, 2009.

Rating: 3 stars

She doesn’t see dead people. She senses when someone near her is about to die. And when that happens, a force beyond her control compels her to scream bloody murder. Literally.

Kaylee just wants to enjoy having caught the attention of the hottest guy in school. But a normal date is hard to come by when Nash seems to know more about her need to scream than she does. And when classmates start dropping dead for no apparent reason, only Kaylee knows who’ll be next.

 

My Review:

I have had my eye on this series for about a year now. A few friends on a Goodreads.com group had decided to “buddy up” and read this series together and I had decided to join them.

My first impression of this book is that it is just the same old, same old…girl finds out she is different, popular boy falls for girl, girl can’t believe it, girl and boy get in trouble, then they save the day. All is well and they fall deeper in love and live happily ever after.

Is this book one of those? Sort of! The storyline is different. Kaylee is a bean sidhe, which is also known as a Banshee. She can tell when a person is about to die. The first book in this series is all about Kaylee learning what she is and how she can use it to help. This was the perfect set-up book.

There are two different male characters that are major players in the book. Nash and Tod. I am still on the fence as to which team I would like to advertise, so for right now, I will remain Switzerland.

I had a hard time really getting this book to capture my attention. Everyone else that I talk to absolutely adored it. I am not sure what my issues were, but I was determined to finish it.

I am going to continue with the next book in the series, My Soul To Save. I hope that since the series is basically set up, that this book will be able to hold my attention better!

“So what does Tod look like? Whitewashed skeleton skulking around in a black cape and hood? Carrying a scythe? ‘Cause I’m thinking that would cause mass panic in the hospital.” …..

“Do you chase after a funeral processions in a long, dirty dress, hair trailing behind you in the wind?”

 I shot him a mock frown. “Have you been following me again?”

Author:

Heather is a happily married wife & Mom of 2 daughters and three four legged kids. She began her addiction to reading with the Twilight Saga. Mainly she reads anything in the young adult genre and is always on the lookout for the newest bestseller!

3 thoughts on “My Soul to Take by Rachel Vincent

  1. I pretty much agree with your review! It almost didn’t hold me for a little while there! I just started the second book and I actually skipped the prequel. Love Nash but……………..not sure about Tod yet!

    Like

  2. I don’t remember being in love with the first book in the series either… but I kept reading just because I am kind of OCD about reading the whole series. For me each book was better than the one before. Now I’m a big fan of the series.

    Like

Talk to me!

