Abandon by Meg Cabot


“It’s one thing to protect yourself,” Dad yelled at me during our very next lunch. “That I get. Have I ever told you not to defend yourself? No. But did you have to permanently maim him? I spent all that money on that fancy school for girls-not to mention all that money for the shrinks-and what did that get me?”
I shrugged. “A seven-figure civil suit?”

Publisher: Point

Publish Date: April 26, 2011

Received: Via book swap

Purchase a copy: Amazon

Goodreads Blurb:

Though she tries returning to the life she knew before the accident, Pierce can’t help but feel at once a part of this world, and apart from it. Yet she’s never alone . . . because someone is always watching her. Escape from the realm of the dead is impossible when someone there wants you back.

But now she’s moved to a new town. Maybe at her new school, she can start fresh. Maybe she can stop feeling so afraid.

Only she can’t. Because even here, he finds her. That’s how desperately he wants her back. She knows he’s no guardian angel, and his dark world isn’t exactly heaven, yet she can’t stay away… especially since he always appears when she least expects it, but exactly when she needs him most.

But if she lets herself fall any further, she may just find herself back in the one place she most fears: the Underworld.

My Review:

Okay, I have read many reviews on this book and honestly, they almost deterred me from even reading it. Then someone asked me to do a swap with them and this was the only book that I was semi interested in. So, I decided to take a chance and let me tell you….I am SO glad that I did! I really loved it!!!

This is the first book that I have read by Ms. Cabot and I was very happy with it. It was not very fast paced, but I felt that it kept a steady rhythm. I never got bored while reading and actually finished it in one day.

My only flaw with the book was the main character. She really annoyed me and normally I never have any character complaints, but this one really got to me. She just always seemed confused throughout the whole book on her feelings for John. One minute she is all upset that she thinks she will never see him again and the next when he tries to be nice, she is yelling at him. I just kept hoping that she would stop being such a drama queen and figure it out already.

John, on the other hand was perfect! I really enjoyed his character. Dark and mysterious, rugged and tough, yet sometimes sweet! Everything I look for in the perfect book boyfriend! (add another one to the list)

I highly recommend this book if you are a paranormal lover. I am excited for the next book in the series, Underworld, due out sometime in 2012.

“I don’t really know. I’ve never rescued a girl I love from the Furies before.” He looked alarmed as he noticed my eyes were filling with tears. “Don’t cry.”
“How can I not?” I asked him. “You just said you love me.”
“Why else did you think all of this was happening?” He set the book aside to wrap his arms around me. “The Furies wouldn’t be trying to kill you if I didn’t love you.”

3 comments

  1. Meg Cabot was the only author I ever wrote to. My email went something like this “yeah, yeah your books are great and everything, but what I really want to know is: how do you make the cinnamon toasts that Mia loves?” 🙂

    Like

Talk to me!

