All These Things I’ve Done by Gabrielle Zevin


“Daddy always said the only thing worth begging for was your life, but maybe he was wrong. Maybe sometimes your love is a little bit worth begging for, too.”

Listened to audio disc published by Macmillan Audio on September 27, 2011

Audio disc given by publisher for this review.

Rating: 5 stars!

In 2083, chocolate and coffee are illegal, paper is hard to find, water is carefully rationed, and New York City is rife with crime and poverty. And yet, for Anya Balanchine, the sixteen-year-old daughter of the city’s most notorious (and dead) crime boss, life is fairly routine. It consists of going to school, taking care of her siblings and her dying grandmother, trying to avoid falling in love with the new assistant D.A.’s son, and avoiding her loser ex-boyfriend. That is until her ex is accidently poisoned by the chocolate her family manufactures and the police think she’s to blame. Suddenly, Anya finds herself thrust unwillingly into the spotlight–at school, in the news, and most importantly, within her mafia family.

My Review:

I just finished listening to this audiobook this morning on my way to work and I am still reeling from it! This is the first book that I have heard of by Ms. Zevin and I am interested to see more.

Right off the bat, I was interested in this book just by the cover and title. It intrigued me and I needed to get my hands on it to find out more. At this point, I had not even read what the book was about, but just knew that I needed it.

The narrator’s voice was very peaceful. It actually was perfect for all of the characters! It was easy to differentiate whom was speaking at what time and I had no problem following the story.

Anya is a strong-willed young lady whom is a great heroine. She loves her family and would do anything to keep them safe..and has. I felt really sorry for her due to the fact of what she was born into. You have no control over whom your family is, but sometimes that alone gives you your reputation.

The entrance of Win was a wonderful addition to the story. You could tell right off that the two would end up together. It is funny that Anya would be destined to be with Win just like her parent’s relationship. Win is definitely swoonworthy!

The other character that I absolutely adored was Anya’s brother, Leo. He was sweet and innocent, but every once in awhile…he would turn dark. Even after his accident which left him with brain damage, he was still trying to be the man of the house and protect his sisters.

I have to mention here how much I dislike Win’s father. But, he was a much-needed addition to the storyline. He had a weird air about him that he was not downright mean, but he was brutal in a subtle way. This left me very aggravated with him.

The ending of this book was sad and left us with a cliffhanger. A major one!!! There is no word on when the next book is to be released and I am crossing my fingers that it is soon! I am not sure how long I can wait before I explode with excitement. As you can see, I have a lot to say about this particular book, I suggest you read it! Come back and let me know your thoughts!!!

“Stop saying that! You sound absurd, and I don’t even think you mean it. Besides, I’d never marry you,” I told him. “I’m sixteen, and you’re a slut, and you can’t stop saying preposterous things!”
“True,” he admitted. He kissed me on the lips and then I closed the door.”

Talk to me!

