Posted in 2011, October

Damaged: Natalie’s Story by Talia Jager


I thought about our conversation all day. He had gotten so worked up about the possibility I may have met a guy.

It bothered me that he didn’t take my word for it.

Kindle Edition published on July 23, 2010.

Review copy given by author for this review.

Rating- 4 stars

Natalie Jarrett is a seventeen-year-old girl who falls in love with the wrong boy. When she finds herself in the hospital after one of his violent attacks, she can no longer turn a blind eye. Suffering from severe injuries, her doctor tells her she will never be the same again. Although injured and feeling guilty, alone, scared and most of all, damaged, everyone seems to expect her to return quickly to her normal life – but how can she bounce back when she blames herself for all that’s gone wrong?

My Review:

I have to give praise to Ms. Talia Jager for taking real life teen situations and putting them into writing for us. Her stories and characters are quite believable. It helps the reader to get sucked in and feel all kinds of emotions like they are becoming the characters themselves.

I appreciated reading Natalies Story. She had to fight demons to find her inner strength. Her biggest cheerleader being her sister, Miranda. I adored their relationship and enjoyed the fact that they had taken something so traumatic and awful, but found friendship in each other.

During the story, a lot of skeletons are revealed from this families closet. I liked that Natalie did not feel threatened by that. She embraced the fact that her family just wanted to protect her and it just made her try to fight harder.

During the reading of this book, I fell for Josh too. I can totally understand why Natalie loved him so much. It had taken me back to my first love. When all the pain and anguish would not go away because the love you felt for this other person was so new and so strong. Of course, I was brought to tears yet again.

“Don’t you understand?” He grabbed my shoulders. “I love you , Natalie.”

“I love you, too, Josh.”

Josh pulled me to him. “I’m sorry, Nat. Please don’t leave me.”

At first, I felt that the beginning was rushed. The fighting had started so early in Josh and Natalie’s relationship, but then I remembered that when you are young, you fall very fast and very hard. Natalie had questioned Josh’s behavior, but really liked him and made up different excuses for why he behaved the way he had. It is not until closer to the middle/end that the reader realizes how messed up Josh really is.

I am very happy with the ending of this book. I am glad that Natalie finally found the strength to push away her demons and really start to live her life. She had to realize that the way she had recovered was all she will ever get and it was FINALLY enough for her!

Thank you Talia for the review copy of this book! I loved getting to read about Natalie and her fight to come back from an awful experience.

I stood up. “I’ve been trying to get a hold of -“

Josh raised his hand and slapped me. My cheek felt like it had erupted into flames. I was stunned and speechless.

“Josh?”

See other books written by Talia: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4161740.Talia_Jager

Author:

Heather is a happily married wife & Mom of 2 daughters and three four legged kids. She began her addiction to reading with the Twilight Saga. Mainly she reads anything in the young adult genre and is always on the lookout for the newest bestseller!

Talk to me!

