Interview with Angeline Kace, Author of Descended By Blood


Brooke Keller is a high school junior who has never spent much time living in one place. She is finally in a town long enough to almost snag the boy of her dreams, until her life is threatened after killing a fanged man in his attempt to kidnap her. Brooke begins a dangerous journey in an effort to find out who is after her and how to stop them. In a world with powerful and prejudiced vampires, Brooke must tap into the side of her that she never knew existed at the risk of losing her life in order to save it.

Read my review HERE.

  1. How did you come up with the names of your characters especially Jaren and Mirko? They are so unique.

 For Jaren’s name, I took my husband’s middle name, Jared, and put a twist on it.

 For Mirko, I needed him to have a Croatian name, but I didn’t want it to sound too foreign to my readers. There’s a Croatian UFC fighter named Mirko, and since the UFC has become mainstream, I thought Mirko would sound less foreign to people who may have heard it before.

 Did you have to do any special research to get your ideas for the book?

My main source of research was from all the other books that I’ve read. I knew what had been done and what hadn’t. Then I did some research on the Mafia and their methods of secrecy. I also did some research on the history of vampires, vampire legend, history of Croatia, etc. There’s actually a lot of research that goes into a book, even if the reader never sees most of what the writer found.

 Did the book originally have another name? If so, how did you decide to keep Descended by Blood?

Descended by Blood has been the only name for the book. I knew I wanted to have “Blood” in the title, but I also wanted it to relate to the half-vampire or being born as a vampire element. I think that element is important to the story, so when I found the name, that was it.

 Where did you get the inspiration for this book?

The inspiration came from reading a TON of vampire romance books. I knew my story was going to be about vampires, but I really tried to make it different.

 Please tell us that there is a next book and when we can look forward to it being published?

Hahaha 😉 Yes, there is another book. Descended by Blood is the first in the Vampire Born Trilogy, so there will be two more books.

Speed Round:

Favorite Book?

Oh, man. This one is tough. I have a lot of favorite books. I’m more of a series girl, so I don’t really have just one book I can claim, but I do have series. I’d have to say the Twilight series, Night Huntress series, and Vampire Academy are my faves.

Favorite Author?

Oh, this one’s another difficult one to answer. I’d say Rachel Vincent and Richelle Mead are some of my favorites.

Favorite genre to read?

Paranormal Romance, with an emphasis on vampires.  😉

Favorite genre to write?

I’m new to writing, so Descended by Blood was my first book. I think Paranormal romance will always be my favorite, but I think I’d like to write some contemporary and action thrillers.

Favorite place to read?

On my couch, snuggling with my doggies.

Thank you so much for the interview, Heather! 😉

No Angeline, Thank you so much for answering all of my questions!!! Get a copy of Descended by Blood at the following places:

Amazon     Barnes & Noble

Add it to your Goodreads list:

Goodreads

One comment

  1. Lovely interview! I’ve had Descended By Blood on my TBR list for a while now… but I shall have to push it up to the top after reading this.
    I love the cover, too, by the way. Good luck with the books, Angeline!

    This is the first time I’ve seen your blog, Nightly Reading… it’s so pretty… Love it!
    Suzy Turner
    Author of The Raven Saga

    Like

Talk to me!

