Blogger Love with The Danica Page Blog


  

Welcome to Danica from The Danica Page Blog 

Published by Viking Juvenile on May 4, 2006.

Reminiscent of the movie Say Anything, a debut novel for all those searching for The One!

Sara and Tobey couldn’t be more different. She is focused on getting into her first-choice college; he wants to win Battle of the Bands. Sara’s other goal is to find true love, so when Dave, a popular jock, asks her out, she’s thrilled. But then there’s Tobey. His amazing blue eyes and quirky wit always creep into her thoughts. It just so happens that one of Tobey’s goals is also to make Sara fall in love with him. Told in alternating points of view, Sara and Tobey’s real connection will have everyone rooting for them from the minute they meet!

Danica’s Review:

I had heard a lot of good things about Susan Colasanti and her novels for a really time, and so I decided to read When It Happens.

When It Happens is a super cute book that follows the tale of a girl named Sara and a boy named Tobey. Tobey is madly in love with Sara—he can’t explain why. Sara has finally got the boy who she thinks is the “guy of her dreams” to go out with her. When Tobey admits to being in love with her, Sara’s not sure what to think. She feels inexplicably drawn to him. And Tobey’s proven he’ll do anything to be with her.

When It Happens is hilarious. I loved it. Tobey and Sara are two characters that a person could easily relate to and fall in love with their stories. Colasanti writes in a refreshing manner that drew me into the story.

I definitely recommend this novel. At times this novel could be awkward, but overall it was a compelling story about what it means to be in love.

This book had me laughing out loud—literally, laughing in the most inopportune moments.  A book that I would definitely reread, and an author that I will definitely mark as one to follow up.

Readers who love Sara Dessen and Jennifer Echols will not want to miss out on this beautifully written tale about self-discovery and finding love in the midst of the chaos of high school.

“Do you want to be with Dave for the rest of your life?” Then he rips off a piece of paper and picks up
the smallest charcoal stick from my set. He writes something. He passes it over to me.
It says:
Time will tell.
“And while you’re waiting,” he says, “don’t settle for anything less than what you really want.”

 

Blogger Q&A:

 How long ago did you start your blog?

 I started my blog in January. However, I’ve only recently become involved with the blogging memes and am beginning to connected with other blogs. So about 8 ½ months :).

 Why did you decide to start a blog?

 The reason why I decided to blog is twofold.

 First, I love reading. I became addicted to goodreads and loved that I could see what others thought about books they read. It caused my to-read list to grow exponentially. I wanted to blog about books and help share my opinions of books with others.

 Second, I love to write and was excited to explore writing in a new medium. As a journalist I write articles, as a wannabe author I write novels, and so blogging offered a lighter medium for me to write in.

 How did you choose your blog name?

 I’m terrible at coming up with names. It is not my forte in life by any means. I was simply going to name by blog after my name. (Pathetic, I know.)

 Finally, the idea of Taking it One Page at a Time was born. I love this name, because it ties into my name Danica Page. And because that really is how I live—that’s how I survive each day. I write one page at a time, I read one page at a time, and I edit one page at a time.

 I loved the way it sounded and it just fit so perfectly with my life. I felt like it described me in a nutshell.

 Lightening Round:

 Ebook or hard copy?

 Definitely hard copy.

 Chocolate or Vanilla?

 Vanilla.

 Winter or Summer?

 Summer.

 Favorite Author?

 I can’t choose just one! I’m going to have to categorize. Right now my favorite YA authors are:

 Sarah Dessen

Sara Zarr

Gayle Foreman

And I’m going to force myself to stop there.

 What are you reading now?

 I am currently reading Matched by Ally Condie and a few other e-books I was asked to review.

 *Thank you Danica, for sharing your review with us and taking the time to answer our questions!!!

So, go on over and check out Danica’s Blog!!!

One comment

Talk to me!

