If I die by Rachel Vincent & The Jinx Giveaway/Interview


“Next Thursday,” the reaper said finally, looking right into my eyes. His irises roiled with a sudden maelstrom of pain and distress, and I was pretty sure he was watching the same storm rage in mine. “You’re going to die in six days.”

Published September 27, 2011 by Harlequin

Rating: 5 stars!!!

The entire school’s talking about the gorgeous new math teacher, Mr. Beck. Everyone except Kaylee Cavanaugh. After all, Kaylee’s no ordinary high-school junior. She’s a banshee—she screams when someone dies.

But the next scream might be for Kaylee.

Yeah—it’s a shock to her, too. So to distract herself, Kaylee’s going to save every girl in school. Because that hot new teacher is really an incubus who feeds on the desire of unsuspecting students. The only girls immune to his lure are Kaylee and Sabine, her boyfriend’s needy ex-girlfriend. Now the unlikely allies have to get rid of Mr. Beck…before he discovers they aren’t quite human, either.

But Kaylee’s borrowed lifeline is nearing its end. And those who care about her will do anything to save her life.

Anything.

My Review:

The acknowledgment at the beginning of the ARC copy that I received says:

This one is for everyone who wrote  to ask what happens next.

Here you go.

Now ask me again:)

Well Ms. Vincent, I can guarantee that they will be asking. This book was by far the best in the series yet and I cannot wait for more!

Emotions were raw and I found myself feeling sad while reading. As you all have probably figured out, Kaylee ends up on the death list. Her father, Nash and Tod are trying to figure out a way to save her. But, it’s not that simple.

The book focuses a lot on the relationships that Kaylee has with her family, friends and boyfriend. There are some MAJOR twists along the way and I found myself enjoying every single one of them.

I have finally decided to jump on the Team Tod band wagon! I really do like Nash also, but his relationship with Kaylee had too many snags and I do not see them recovering from all of them. I know from experience, you can forgive, but it is VERY hard to forget!

The ending was traumatizing especially the very last page and it left the reader with many, many questions as to what will happen next??

It looks like the next book in the series is due out in July, 2012 called If I Wake. I am really looking forward to it and am marking my calendar now!!!

“How long can you keep me invisible?”
“As long as we’re in physical contact.”
My throat felt dry. “Holding hands?” That’s how we’d done it last time.
“Unless you had something else in mind?”

The Jinx:

The Jinx is the story of Stephen Grayson, a 13-year old whose run of bad luck gets so bad he worries he is endangering his family. Fearing he is cursed, he flees home to protect his family, only to find that he is in the middle of a tug-of war between a cult obsessed with order and misshapen monsters known as “Chaons” who seem bent on hunting him down.
 

Interview with D.F. Lamont:

How did you come up with the title of the book?

 It’s about a 13-year-old boy who has a run of bad luck he thinks he’s been cursed, so I played around with titles that mean “bad luck.” For a long time while I was writing it I called it “Jinxed” then decided I would like “The Jinx” better.  I didn’t realize there were other books that have a similar name, but I like it. “The Jinx” it is.

 What were the challenges to getting the book published?

 I’m self-published, because I am kind of impatient. I asked friends in publishing, and they suggested the digital route. I started with an eBook version, but lots of friends don’t have e-readers and asked for a real copy. There is a great independent bookseller where I live, called McNally Robinson. They are big supporters of local writers, so I had copies printed up through lulu.com, held a book launch and it was on the best-seller list for four weeks running, which was nice. I have also arranged for distribution of paperback versions through Amazon.com, and digital versions are available worldwide for iPad, Kindle, and Nook.

 What book are you reading right now?

 I’m reading a fun, non-fiction book called “Panati’s Extraordinary Origins of Everyday Things,” which is a tremendously entertaining book. It has the origins of everything from air conditioning – which was in Egypt in 3000 B.C., where water poured into clay trays in the dry air and cold desert nights could actually create ice through evaporation – to the vacuum cleaner, which is also hilarious and fascinating. The inventor had an argument about whether a machine that sucked up air would work, and tested his theory by sucking on the plush back of his chair at a restaurant, nearly choking himself.

 When did you write your first book and how old were you?

 The Jinx is my first book. I’ve got folder full of false starts and first chapters, and this is the first one I’ve seen through to the end. But I’ve been writing for 20 years, as a journalist, humorist, and doing PR.

 Do you have any advice for other writers?

 It’s a little technical, but from a style point of view, avoid adverbs. Go through your manuscript and if you find words that end in –ly, see if you can delete it and use a verb or a noun that expresses what you are trying to say with that adverb.

For the longer term, don’t quit. Keep writing. If you can get 1,000 words a day done, you will eventually have a book.

What are you currently working on?

 I am working on a new book for kids, 10-13 based on a couple of ideas that I have had for a long time. I am a few chapters in to the first draft.

 Speed Round:

 Favorite Book? Lucky Jim, by Kingsley Amis. So funny.

 Favorite Author? Patrick O’Brian. His historical Aubrey / Maturin novels are really incredible. He has amazing characters, amazing historical detail and manages to develop a narratives that can stretch over five novels, with each novel being self-contained and satisfying, and each one being a cliffhanger that drives you to the next.

 Favorite place to read? At a cottage or on vacation.

 Favorite Genre? I almost never think about that – I actually quite like graphic novels, but many of my favourite books are historical novels, like Patrick O’Brian, or the Judge Dee Murder Mysteries by Robert Van Gulik, though my own writing is nothing like their.

 Last fun one:

 If you could choose to be a character from any book, who would it be and why?

I think Robert Van Gulik’s Judge Dee – he is a remarkable character. He is a detective, a judge, a superb athlete and fighter, a family man, and a person of impeccable character.

He metes out justice, but also – like Sherlock Holmes or Batman – will go out on the streets in disguise. He wins people over with the sheer force of his personality, is incorruptible and has a strong sense of duty. No wonder I would like to be like him! Pure wish fulfillment.

Purchase the book HERE!

D. F. Lamont will also be signing and selling copies at the Central Canada Comic Con in Winnipeg Manitoba this weekend, Oct 28, 29 & 30. 

Giveaway:

Rules:

1. Must be a follower.

2. International!!!

3. There will be 2 winners, One will receive a paperback copy and One will receive an eBook copy.

4. Winner will be chosen by Random.org on November 4, 2011.

Good Luck!

 

 

 

3 comments

Talk to me!

