Posted in 2011, October

Last Breath by Rachel Caine & Raie’ Chaelia Interview/Giveaway


“Marriage is a big word for all guys,” Shane said. “You know that. It’s kind of an allergy. We get itchy and sweaty just trying to spell it, much less do it.”

Published on November 1, 2011 by NAL

Rating: 5 stars!

With her boss preoccupied researching the Founder Houses in Morganville, student Claire Danvers is left to her own devices when she learns that three vampires have vanished without a trace. She soon discovers that the last person seen with one of the missing vampires is someone new to town—a mysterious individual named Magnus. After an uneasy encounter with Morganville’s latest resident, Claire is certain Magnus isn’t merely human. But is he a vampire—or something else entirely?

My Review:

I am not sure if I have ever been so excited about a book in my life. If you love this series, than this book MUST be read!!!

The book starts off with the vampires and the humans kind of in an uproar about Eve and Michael’s upcoming nuptials. Shane and Claire are left to try talking Eve and Michael out of their decision. It does not take long before the plot is turned and there is more going on in Morganville that threatens everyone! Even the vampires!!!

This book made me laugh, cry…yes..cry, and wish that I had a room in the glass house. With being chalked full of romance, adventure and death, the reader will be left breathless. I know that I was!

The relationship between Michael and Eve, Shane and Claire will be tested to the fullest capacity in this installment. Rachel lets the reader know exactly what these characters mean to each other and where they each stand.

The best part is that we get many different POV in this installment. Not only Claire and Shane, but, Eve, Michael and even Amelie!

I cannot rave enough about this latest book, just go out and buy it!!! NOW!!!

He went off after Michael. Eve chewed her lip and said, “Well, we’re either going to see half the house destroyed, or their bromance is going to go all the way.”

 

Giveaway:

When Chalice sets off for Branbury in the middle of the night with her grandfather’s instructions, she has no idea of the dangers that await her. The King’s men have destroyed her home village of Canton and she is suddenly thrown into a Terravailian world that she does not know. Lost and alone, she is hard pressed to evade the iron grasp of the madman who rules the land. With the help of a friendly Chinuk, an old man, and a book that she discovers along the way, not only does she find true friends and true love, but she also finds her true self and what it means to be the Raie’Chaelia.

Author: Melissa Douthit

When did you decide you wanted to be a writer?

It was in 2005 that I began formulating a story for a trilogy that I wanted to write, the one that I am writing now.  The Raie’Chaelia is book one.  Before then, I never thought I could be a writer as my talents seemed to be in science and math.

 Why did you pick the paranormal genre?

I chose this genre, mixed in with fantasy/sci-fi, because these are the genres I love to read.  It is a great escape to sit down with a book and get lost in another world that is different than our own – filled with either magic or wonder.

 Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

I see myself working in my current career and writing on the side.  Writing has become a hobby, an escape from the real world into another, like reading a book, except in this case, it is an escape into a world that I get to create.

 If your book was turned into a movie, whom would you cast as the main character, if it was your choice?

I think I would choose a new, unknown actress to play Chalice as there is really no one that I can think of who fits her description.  Chalice is beautiful and tough.  She is a very strong female character.

 When you are not writing, what do you enjoy doing?

Either skiing, swimming, reading or cooking while listening to an audiobook with my coonhound laying in the corner waiting for a bite of whatever I’m making.

 What is next on your agenda? Any new books on the horizon??

I am currently working on The Firelight of Maalda, book two, and The Return, book three.  After this trilogy, I have notes written for four standalone books that I want to write.  They are called: The Wolf, The Dark Girl, Every Waking Moment, and A Midnight Ride.

 Speed Round:

 

  1. Favorite Book?  Bible
  2. Favorite Author?  Robert Jordan
  3. Favorite genre to read?  YA Fantasy/Sci-fi & Paranormal
  4. Favorite genre to write?  YA Fantasy/Sci-fi & Paranormal
  5. Favorite place to read?  In a comfy chair by the fire.

 

 Giveaway:

1. MUST be a follower of blog, Twitter, or “like” Facebook Fan page

2. Open internationally!!

3. Winner will receive an Ebook copy of the book mailed directly from the author.

4. Winner will be chosen on November 7, 2011 using Random.org.

GOOD LUCK:)

Author:

Heather is a happily married wife & Mom of 2 daughters and three four legged kids. She began her addiction to reading with the Twilight Saga. Mainly she reads anything in the young adult genre and is always on the lookout for the newest bestseller!

One thought on “Last Breath by Rachel Caine & Raie’ Chaelia Interview/Giveaway

Talk to me!

