Some Girls Bite by Chle Neill


“You have to call Darth Sullivan your ‘Liege’?”
I grinned. “Only if I expect him to answer.”

Published on April 7, 2009 by NAL Trade.

First in a brand new series about a Chicago graduate student’s introduction into a society of vampires.

Sure, the life of a graduate student wasn’t exactly glamorous, but it was Merit’s. She was doing fine until a rogue vampire attacked her. But he only got a sip before he was scared away by another bloodsucker-and this one decided the best way to save her life was to make her the walking undead.

Turns out her savior was the master vampire of Cadogan House. Now she’s traded sweating over her thesis for learning to fit in at a Hyde Park mansion full of vamps loyal to Ethan “Lord o’ the Manor” Sullivan. Of course, as a tall, green-eyed, four-hundred- year-old vampire, he has centuries’ worth of charm, but unfortunately he expects her gratitude- and servitude. But an inconvenient sunlight allergy and Ethan’s attitude are the least of her concerns. Someone’s still out to get her. Her initiation into Chicago’s nightlife may be the first skirmish in a war-and there will be blood.

My Review:

I am reading this series with a few of my buddies on Goodreads, Kayleigh, Shannon, Elsa, Jennifer, did I forget anyone? Anyway, throughout the reading, we update each other on where we are and what our thoughts are in the book. This is our second buddy read together, our first was the Soul Screamer series. Having no one at home that I can discuss my books with, I LOVE having these gals to go to and I hope we continue to read many a series together:-)

This was a hard book for me to get through and it actually took me a long time to read! The premise is good and the characters are interesting. But, I like me a little romance with my reads and although it’s there a little, the writer likes to play up the sexual tension and we never really had gotten anywhere with it:(

One of my favorite characters is Jeff. He is a shape shifter and he works with Merit’s grandfather. He is hilarious and he would make a great boyfriend to some lucky lady. Hopefully, the author will give him someone in the next few books of the series since he is always looking for love!

“Asking about someone’s animal is the shifter equivalent of pulling a ruler and asking a guy to whip it out.”

The tension between Ethan and Merit is exhausting and I really wish that something would happen there! Although, I have grown quite fond of Morgan, but you can tell right away where Merit’s heart lies.

Me and my buds are going to continue with the series. We are bound and determined to see it through to the end. Just a quick note that this is not a YA read, the few times there was a sexual encounter, it was explicit.

“Do you understand what I’m offering you?”

“Do you understand that it’s not 1815?”

“It’s not unusual for Masters to have Consorts.”

Yes,” “and your current Consort’s in my kitchen right now. If you need . . . relieving, talk to her.”

“As much as it pains me to say it, Amber isn’t you.”

I don’t even know what that means. Should I—What? Be flattered that while you don’t like me, you’re willing to sacrifice just to get into my pants?

Talk to me!

