Posted in 2011, November

Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire


“It’s dangerous to need someone that much. You’re trying to save him and he’s hoping you can. You two are a disaster.” I smiled at the ceiling. “It doesn’t matter what or why it is. When it’s good, Kara… it’s beautiful.”

Published on May 26, 2011.

Kindle Edition

Rating: 5 stars!!!

The new Abby Abernathy is a good girl. She doesn’t drink or swear, and she has the appropriate percentage of cardigans in her wardrobe. Abby believes she has enough distance between her and the darkness of her past, but when she arrives at college with her best friend America, her path to a new beginning is quickly challenged by Eastern University’s Walking One-Night Stand.

Travis Maddox, lean, cut, and covered in tattoos, is exactly what Abby needs—and wants—to avoid. He spends his nights winning money in a floating fight ring, and his days as the charming college co-ed. Intrigued by Abby’s resistance to his charms, Travis tricks her into his daily life with a simple bet. If he loses, he must remain abstinent for a month. If Abby loses, she must live in Travis’ apartment for the same amount of time. Either way, Travis has no idea that he has met his match.

My Review:

I have heard more and more people stating that they dislike the cover art for this book. I think it fits the book perfectly. Chaos!!! The art grabs your attention and screams “read me”!

Oh what to say about this book? I believe that I have found my new favorite romance with a twist of masochism. Travis and Abby should not be together. They know it, their friends know it and basically everyone around them knows it, but they still cannot stay away from each other.

Abby went to Eastern college to get away from a past that still haunts her. She is a good student, quiet and tries to basically stay out of trouble. Travis is tattooed, an underground fighter for money and a one night stand kind of guy. He leaves a trail of women and does not think twice about it. Let me tell you, he just reeks trouble! They meet one night at a fight due to Abby’s BFF dating Travis’s cousin and Travis just has to get to know her. Then comes the bet where the whole disaster starts. Travis bets Abby that he can win a fight by not getting hit, not even once. If he wins, she has to live with him in his apartment for a month. If she wins, he has to stay abstinent for a month. Oh boy…I can tell you this makes for an interesting read.

The two begin to spiral downward from there! Another part that makes this book so wonderful are the side characters. Abby’s BFF, Mer is a spitfire and will stand in anyone’s way when it comes to Abby. Mer’s boyfriend, Shepley is a great addition too and you can tell that the two are really meant for each other. Finch is Abby’s gay friend and he had me amused on several occasions throughout the book. We cannot forget Kara, Abby’s grumpy roommate. She had me laughing out loud with her hysterical comments.

The book is an emotional roller coaster ride through the love affair of Abby and Travis. They will make you laugh, cry and swoon! The scenarios are very real and you may even know someone who has had a debacle of a relationship just like theirs? Even throughout all that they had done to each other, they still felt a desirable pull to one another that could not be denied.

I just have to swoon on Travis for a moment! I do not care about his crazy antics. He can be a fighter and I love tattoos! But, I want me a Travis!!! He literally fell hard for Abby and at times seemed like a crazy stalker. Who wouldn’t love a man chasing them for a change? LOL

This book was frustrating on so many levels and I really wanted to strangle both characters on several occasions, but that is what made it so great! One that I had to keep reading to completion and wanted no interruptions! Beware though, this read is for a very mature teen. There are a lot of sexual encounters, not to mention foul language. I can honestly say that I will be reading this book again and again! I am still reeling over it days later!

“To douchebags!” he said, gesturing to Brad. “And to girls that break your heart,” he bowed his head to me. His eyes lost focus. “And to the absolute fucking horror of losing your best friend because you were stupid enough to fall in love with her.”

Author:

Heather is a happily married wife & Mom of 2 daughters and three four legged kids. She began her addiction to reading with the Twilight Saga. Mainly she reads anything in the young adult genre and is always on the lookout for the newest bestseller!

7 thoughts on “Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire

  1. I also loved the cover. They should have left it and what happend to “don’t judge a book by its cover”. I hope that when I buy this book I can find it with the first cover.

    Like

Talk to me!

