Posted in 2011, Blogger Love, November

Blogger Love with Reading Wishes & I Got Quoted!


  

Welcome to Rebecca from Reading Wishes

 

 

If she’d waited less than two weeks, she’d be June who died in June. But I guess my sister didn’t consider that.’

Harper Scott’s older sister has always been the perfect one so when June takes her own life a week before her high school graduation, sixteen-year-old Harper is devastated. Everyone’s sorry, but no one can explain why.

When her divorcing parents decide to split her sister’s ashes into his-and-her urns, Harper takes matters into her own hands. She’ll steal the ashes and drive cross-country with her best friend, Laney, to the one place June always dreamed of going California.

Enter Jake Tolan. He’s a boy with a bad attitude, a classic-rock obsession and nothing in common with Harper’s sister. But Jake had a connection with June, and when he insists on joining them, Harper’s just desperate enough to let him. With his alternately charming and infuriating demeanour and his belief that music can see you through anything, he might be exactly what she needs.

Except June wasn’t the only one hiding something. Jake’s keeping a secret that has the power to turn Harper’s life upside down again.

Rebecca’s Review:

After I found out about this book and as more and more reviews kept streaming in my Goodreads feed, I finally went to the shop and brought a copy. And I am very happy I did!
 
After June takes her life, her sister, Harper, is left in the dark, devastated and confused. So when her divorced parents decide to split the ashes, Harper takes matters into her own hands, and hatches a plan to take the ashes to Calafornia – the one place June had always dreamed of going to.
With the help of her best friend, Laney, and mysterious boy, Jake Tolan, who had a connection with June and insists on coming along, they set off on a music filled road trip.
 
This book, was just such an effortless read, it just glides. I loved the author’s witty and smart written dialouge, and her golden one-liners, that made this book a rememberable one! All I can say is I can’t believe this is a debut! It is just beautiful and ticks all the boxes, that I look for in a book. Great Characters, flowing dailouge, romance, laugh out loud writing, swoony guys, ect…
This book had me smiling like a lunatic and laughing out loud, whilst it was also a book that tugged at my heartstrings. I adored the charactes, and thought they were brilliantly written. They were full of emotion and believable which made reading about them pleasureable.
 
I adore this cover, it’s just effortlessly effective and pretty. I like the Australian cover the best. Aren’t we lucky!?..
Loved the playlists at the back of the book. 🙂 And Jake’s song… aww

“I’ve never been good at emotional stuff. Except anger. Anger, I’m good at.”

Blogger Q&A:

How long ago did you start your blog?

 I started blogging this year, on the 28th of July, and remember the exact date, as I have it marked on my calendar:  underlined, with two exclamation marks and a love heart, reminding me of when I started a new chapter of my life!

Why did you decide to start a blog?

I’ve always been passionate about books and reading, and one day decided to take it the next level. It would be a challenge, but definitely a good experience, where I could learn lots, have fun, meet new people, and also improve my English!

 How did you choose your blog name?

This was a tricky task and I spent quite a while pondering on what to call it. I wanted my blog to represent me and my creative side and finally, I came up with the name, Reading Wishes! I wanted something bookish in the name, so it was easily known as a book blog. Also, when you think of wishes, personally, I think of a shooting star, or blowing out your birthday candles…something magical! Which is exactly what reading is to me!

Lightening Round:

Ebook or hard copy?  Hard copy! We need to support the good ol’ printed copy!

Chocolate or Vanilla? Chocolate!

Winter or Summer? Winter! I can’t stand the heat!

Favorite Author? I don’t have a favorite author, I don’t know how a book lover could choose just one!

Some of my fave’s include:

-Simone Elkeles

– Jenny Han

-Stephanie Perkins

 What are you reading now?

Just finished Going Too Far by Jennifer Echols. Next I’ll read, Notes from the Teenage Underground by Simmone Howell.

 *Thank you Rebecca, for sharing your review with us and taking the time to answer our questions!!!

So, go on over and check out Rebecca’s Blog!!!

NightlyReading Was Quoted:

So, a good friend on Goodreads (Kayleigh), had mentioned that she was starting to read a new book that she had received and when she opened it, right there was a quote from NightlyReading! I actually had no idea, but I rushed over to Amazon to order the book for myself. It arrived yesterday and YUP, I was quoted! The book is Half-Blood by Jennifer Armentrout. To see my review, please click HERE. Anyway, I am so excited and now I feel famous…LOL. Thanks to Kayleigh for letting me know and for emailing the pic for proof! Also, Huge thanks to Ms. Armentrout and all the folks over at Spencer Hill Press for making a blogger like me feel just a little special!

Photobucket

Author:

Heather is a happily married wife & Mom of 2 daughters and three four legged kids. She began her addiction to reading with the Twilight Saga. Mainly she reads anything in the young adult genre and is always on the lookout for the newest bestseller!

3 thoughts on “Blogger Love with Reading Wishes & I Got Quoted!

  1. Wow, congrats on being quoted, that’s super awesome!! Also, thanks for the Blogger Love event, it’s much appreciated to other bloggers that also hope to be quoted one day!

    Like

Talk to me!

