Fateful by Claudia Gray & Twi-Hards, Who Went?


“Nobody else will ever be able to save me if I’m not fighting as hard as I can to save myself.”

Published by Harper Collin’s Children’s Books on September 13, 2011.

Rating: 4 stars!

In Fateful, eighteen-year-old maid Tess Davies is determined to escape the wealthy, overbearing family she works for. Once the ship they’re sailing on reaches the United States, she’ll strike out on her own. Then she meets Alec, a handsome first-class passenger who captivates her instantly. But Alec has secrets….

Soon Tess will learn just how dark Alec’s past truly is. The danger they face is no ordinary enemy: werewolves are real and they’re stalking him—and now Tess, too. Her growing love for Alec will put Tess in mortal peril, and fate will do the same before their journey on the Titanic is over.

Featuring the opulent backdrop of the Titanic, Fateful’s publication is poised to coincide with the 100-year anniversary of the ship’s doomed maiden voyage. It is sure to be a hit among Titanic buffs and fans of paranormal romance alike.

My Review:

Not too many people know this about me, but I am fascinated by the Titanic. I love to research the ship and the tragedy online and I would love to see actual artifacts pulled from the ships wreckage. Of course, watching the movie over and over just so that I can fantasize about Leonardo helps also:D So when I found out that this is a paranormal book based off of the Titanic tragedy, I just had to read it!

All Tess can think about is getting to NYC so that she can branch out on her own and try to live her life. The family that she works for is downright awful. The only exception to this is the daughter, Irene. She tries to protect Tess and really befriends her. When Tess meets Alec, all bets are off and she finds herself thrust into a world that she could only dream about. It puts her into the utmost danger and it is up to Tess and Alec to save themselves as well as the ones they care about.

I loved Alec. He cares so much about everyone else except for himself. He truly loves Tess. Tess is strong toward the end of the book and I really think that she had to come into herself. She was not used to having to fight for anything. My favorite character would have to be Irene. I admired the fact that she stood up for Tess on more than one occasion. Her family is just degrading and I was glad that she at least had some compassion for those less fortunate than her.

The ending was surprising and left open. I do not think that this will turn into a series, but the author made it possible if she would want to. I must say that although the beginning of this book was kind of slow to start out, the ending left my heart pounding. A recommended read for lovers of historical fiction.

“I wonder how much of the rest of his clothes I could convince him to take off, then wonder where that thought came from.
Well I guess I know.”

Breaking Dawn

So, my question for all of you today is who went to the opening night? I would have LOVED to go but I had to work today and there was NO way that I was going to fight the mob at the theater for tickets. Even if it is the movie of the year! I actually purchased tickets for this coming Sunday and I can’t wait!!! Anyone whom did go, we want to hear from you!!! Let us know what you thought!

Have a great weekend!

4 comments

  1. I went! And my theater was a mad house! Sold out on 11 screens! I enjoyed it! I of course was disappointed by some of my favorite things being left out like the fighting between Jacob and Rosalie that I loved in the book! But I was impressed with how disgusting and gruesome the pregnancy and birth of Renesmee was! Nasty! Also I don’t know if it is just because I love Jacob so much or if Taylor Lautner really is just that amazing but when he started crying I literally started choking up I felt soooo bad for him! The imprinting on Renesmee was weird but I guess they showed it the best way they could.

    Like

Talk to me!

