Chicagoland Vampires Books 2 thru 5 by Chloe Neill


I decided to group together these books. Sometimes when I read a series, I have trouble writing a great review on each book and really look at the series as a whole since I tend to finish one book and DIVE right into the next. I hope you enjoy!

Ten months after vampires revealed their existence to the mortals of Chicago, they’re enjoying a celebrity status usually reserved for the Hollywood elite. But should people learn about the Raves-mass feeding parties where vampires round up humans like cattle-the citizens will start sharpening their stakes.

So now it’s up to the new vampire Merit to reconnect with her upper class family and act as liaison between humans and bloodsuckers, and keep the more unsavory aspects of the vampire lifestyle out of the media. But someone doesn’t want peace between them-someone with an ancient grudge…

The story picked up a bit in this book. A lot of action and drama. Still a bit low-key on the romance and I am awaiting with baited breath until something happens with Merit and one of these guys. I do like Morgan, but Ethan is kind of rubbing off on me too:) I can really say that I cannot stand Merit’s father! He is such an idiot for the way that he treats her! I loved the fact that Merit got to go home again and show her family that she is more than just boring old Merit. I loved that Ethan kept telling her to remember who she is now, a vampire and the sentinel of Cadogan House.

Memorable Quotes:

“Morgan and Catcher said their manly hellos – consisting of a symbolic head bob from Catcher (of the “You’re in my lair now” variety) and a responding nod from Morgan (of the “You are clearly the king of this castle” variety).”

“Seriously, I’m totally weirded out by the girly nature of this conversation. And yet, it’s kinda like you’re growing up. Do you think Judy Blume made a book about adolescent vampires? Are You There God, It’s Me, Merit?” Mallory snorted, obviously pleased with herself.”

“You drugged me,”

“I didn’t want you to feel it, Merit.” His voice was soft. “You’d been
attacked; you hadn’t consented. I didn’t want you to have to go through it. I
didn’t want you to have to remember it.”

Shapeshifters from across the country are convening in the Windy City, and as a gesture of peace, Master Vampire Ethan Sullivan has offered their leader a very special bodyguard: Merit, Chicago’s newest vampire. Merit is supposed to protect the Alpha, Gabriel Keene-and to spy for the vamps while she’s at it. Oh, and luckily Ethan’s offering some steamy, one-on-one combat training sessions to help her prepare for the mission.

Unfortunately, someone is gunning for Gabriel, and Merit soon finds herself in the line of fire. She’ll need all the help she can get to track down the would-be assassin, but everywhere she turns, there are rising tensions between supernaturals-not least between her and a certain green-eyed, centuries-old master vampire.

This is my favorite book in the series and the romance left me breathless! FINALLY, we have some action in the bedroom! I am loving Ethan more and more and I am seeing why Merit wants to be with him. I felt bad for Morgan, but Merit belongs with Ethan. Although, he did irritate me in this book and left me wanting to kick him. The drama and excitement in this book were fantastic. I enjoy reading about Ethan and Merit actually working together as a team. I liked getting to learn more about the shifters and having a sneak peak into their lives. The books are no longer just about vampires, but there are so many other supernaturals at work.

Memorable Quotes:

“You undo me, Merit. Wholly and completely. You don’t take me at my word. You challenge me at every opportunity. And that means when I’m with you, I am less than the head of this House…and I am more than the head of this House. I am a man.” He stroked my cheeks with his thumbs. “In my very, very long life, I need you more than I have ever needed anything.”

“Always remember,” he whispered to me, “that you are an uncommon soldier, whatever they say. And you are quite a thing to behold.”

“And then his voice echoed through my head. Merit.
He silently called my name, even as he stood beside her.
Liege? I answered back.
His eyes glinted. Don’t call me that.
There is nothing else for me to call you. You are my employer.That is the deal we’ve struck.

Times are hard for newly minted vampire Merit. Ever since shapeshifters announced their presence to the world, humans have been rallying against supernaturals-and they’re camping outside of Cadogan House with protest signs that could turn to pitchforks at any moment. Inside its doors, things between Merit and her Master, green-eyed heartbreaker Ethan Sullivan are…tense. But then the mayor of Chicago calls Merit and Ethan to a clandestine meeting and tells them about a violent vamp attack that has left three women missing. His message is simple: get your House in order. Or else.

Merit needs to get to the bottom of this crime, but it doesn’t help that she can’t tell who’s on her side. So she secretly calls in a favor from someone who’s tall, dark, and part of underground vamp group that may have some deep intel on the attack. Merit soon finds herself in the heady, dark heart of Chicago’s supernatural society-a world full of vampires who seem ready to fulfill the protesting human’s worst fears, and a place where she’ll learn that you can’t be a vampire without getting a little blood on your hands…

So now, Ethan and Merit have become quite the team, but chaos is erupting around them in the form of a drug called V. Merit is trying everything to stop the madness that is taking over the vampires. With the incoming of Jonah, I find myself struggling to think that Ethan and Merit should be together romantically. Ethan seems to be trying very hard to win back Merit’s heart but she is still not sure herself. The ending of this book is a complete shocker! Let me tell you, I was crying and holding my breath! I kept thinking that there must be some mistake???

Memorable Quotes:

“No. I will never be far behind you.” He tipped up my chin so that I could do nothing else but look back into his eyes. “Do the things you need to do. Learn to be a vampire, to be a warrior, to be the soldier you are capable of being. But consider the possibility that I made a mistake I regret—and that I’ll continue to regret that mistake and try to convince you to give me another chance until the earth stops turning.”

“I’ll have you in my bed again, Sentinel. And at my side. That is a promise.”

“I wouldn’t let you leave the House if I didn’t—there’s too much at stake.”
“At stake. Ha-ha.” At his frown, I winced.
“Sorry. I kid when I’m nervous.”

Clouds are brewing over Cadogan House, and recently turned vampire Merit can’t tell if this is the darkness before the dawn or the calm before the storm. With the city itself in turmoil over paranormals and the state threatening to pass a paranormal registration act, times haven’t been this precarious for vampires since they came out of the closet. If only they could lay low for a bit, and let the mortals calm down.

That’s when the waters of Lake Michigan suddenly turn pitch black-and things really start getting ugly.

Chicago’s mayor insists it’s nothing to worry about, but Merit knows only the darkest magic could have woven a spell powerful enough to change the very fabric of nature. She’ll have to turn to friends old and new to find out who’s behind this, and stop them before it’s too late for vampires and humans alike.

The beginning of this book was agonizing! I felt for Merit and understood why she just wanted to lock herself away and never come out. Everywhere she turned something reminded her of him. I love that Mal was the one to bring Mer out of her funk. I also enjoyed the fact that Merit was spending more time with Jonah! She deserves someone else to give her butterflies and flutters besides Ethan. The incoming of Frank, the receiver, was FRUSTRATING!!! He was awful and wrong on so many levels! Another shocker ending! Although, it was a bitter-sweet one and I cannot wait for book 6!

Memorable Quotes:

“This is your chance to be a superhero.”

“They do call me the ‘Ponytailed Avenger,’”

“Which means we have to wait until he royally screws the pooch before we can act,” Luc said, hunched over the board again. “All due respect, Liege, the guy is a douche.”

“I have no official position with respect to his douchery,” Malik said.

“Merit!”

I jolted awake, bathed in sweat, gasping for breath, the sound of his voice in my ears.

Tears slipped from my eyes as I pushed drenched bangs from my forehead, and scrubbed my hands across my face, trying to slow the feverish race of my heart.

Just a quick reminder that this is an adult series, not really YA, but I am really enjoyed reading it! The next book in the series, Biting Cold is due out in August 2012.

4 comments

  1. This series sounds really good! It has been on my to-read list forever but I haven’t had a chance to get to it yet. I’m the same way with a series. Usually I read straight through and even most times I read one book each day until I’m done with all of them. I’m low on patience and must know what happens!

    Like

Talk to me!

