Posted in 2011, Book Tours, November

Pyxis Blog Tour, Interview/Kindle Giveaway & Untraceable’s Book Birthday!


Published November 4, 2011 by Stonehouse Ink.

ARC given by author for this review.

Rating: 5 Stars

Two worlds… one 16-year-old girl must learn to protect them both.

The nightmares haunting Corinne and her friend Mason hint at a universe that exists beyond the one they know. Her destiny is to protect a weakness between the two worlds, but her mentor is dead. As Corinne and Mason search for answers, she tries to ignore the sparks igniting between them, but can’t deny she feels safe only when he’s nearby. Will they find help before their nightmares break free?

My Review:

This book sucked me in from the first few pages!

It starts out with Corinne and Angeline at the school’s bake sale. Corinne loves to bake and made some special petit four’s since Angeline had suckered her in to help. Corinne started to notice that people who would never have given her the time of day before have now started to notice her, and be nice to her! They soon figure out that the issue is a little something extra special that Corinne added to the baked goods. She thought it was just food coloring, but turns out it was something else entirely!

I really, really enjoyed this book. The one part that I loved most was that it not only was Corinne and Mason that were involved in the storyline, but Angeline too! How often do you read a book that the main character, the love interest and the BFF all have been changed into something that they are not sure of?

The only question that is still left in mind is : Who is the second guardian?? There are several possibilities, I know whom I think it will be. I ask you all to come back here after you read the book and then we can see if our opinions on the subject match!

Mason & Corinne will be great together once Corinne gets finished with being so shy and timid. She tended to get on my last nerve a few times during reading. Mason is very sweet, trustworthy and you can tell he really loves her.

The ending of the book left the reader with a doozy of a cliffhanger. So many questions left unanswered and I look forward to the next book, hopefully soon!

“Mason?” I said, panic thick in my voice.
“It’s okay. I’m outside, just come and let me in.”
I flew to the basement door, unlocked it, and fell into Mason’s arms. The cold night air curled around us, and I felt goose bumps spread up my bare arms. He nudged the door shut with his foot and reached back to lock it before half-carrying me back to my room.

Author Interview:

When did you decide you wanted to be a writer?

 I’ve wanted to write for as long as I can remember. I started writing stories in a spiral notebook when I was 9 or 10. English was always my favorite class. In high school I wrote a lot of poetry. I didn’t write much through college or for several years afterward, but three years ago I wrote my first novel–which I lovingly call my “practice novel”–in 2008-2009.

 Why did you pick the paranormal genre?

 I think it was just the story that formed in my head, rather than a deliberate decision to write in a certain genre. But I love paranormal because there are so many great possibilities for strange creatures, magic and interesting powers, battles between good and evil, and other imaginative elements. The first novel I wrote–my “practice novel”–was women’s fiction. Young adult paranormal is quite a departure from that!

 Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

 As a bestselling author, of course! 🙂 I’d love to be writing fiction full-time, and also helping other authors market their books. In five years, I’d hope to have another couple of series published. I’d like to write sci-fi, so maybe one series in that genre. I think I’d stay in my current location (Boise,Idaho) as my home base, but it would be great to have the freedom to travel and write from anywhere. I’d especially love to escape to a warmer place during the winter.

 If your book was turned into a movie, whom would you cast as the main character, if it was your choice?

 The main character, Corinne, is a sophomore in high school. She’s a couple of years too young for the part right now, but I like Bella Thorne. I’d want someone who really looks the age of the character, not a supermodel-looking 22-year-old playing the part of a teenager.

 When you are not writing, what do you enjoy doing?

 I do a lot of reading, of course. I take ballet classes, and I spend tons of time gardening spring through fall. This past summer I grew my first veggie garden with over 30 different vegetables and herbs. My husband and I have an adorable, spoiled dog named Oscar, and we play with him a lot. I learned how to surf several years ago – SO much fun – and I wish I could spend more time near the ocean so I could do it more often.

 What is next on your agenda? Any new books on the horizon??

 For sure! Pyxis: The Discovery is the first book in the Pyxis Series. Book 2 in the series, Alight: The Peril, has been outlined, and I plan to start writing it in November and have it published by next summer.

  Speed Round:

 Favorite Book? It’s a tie between A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens and The Stand by Stephen King.

Favorite Author? Impossible to choose just one!

Favorite genre to read? Speculative fiction (fantasy, sci-fi, supernatural, paranormal).

Favorite genre to write? Young adult.

Favorite place to read? Under a palm tree on a tropical beach.

 

Thanks so much for interviewing me, Heather!

No, K.C…..Thank you!!!

Giveaway:

YOU could be the winner of a new kindle!!! To enter, go on over to K.C.’s blog and fill in the rafflecopter form! Make sure you follow me on Twitter to enter!

http://kcneal.blogspot.com/p/win-kindle-tour-dates.html

Untraceable:

Today is Untraceable’s Book Birthday!

Published by Coleman & Stott

Everyone leaves a mark. What if your could be erased?
Untraceable is a new teen wilderness thriller with a missing father, a kickbutt heroine, and of course – two hot boys.

“This thrilling story is a dramatic entanglement of mystery, deception and teen romance. The action flows like a brisk mountain stream interspersed with rapids, holding suspense to last page.” – Kirkus Reviews

“Grace is a spunky, independent, nature girl who doesn’t need a boy to save her. With wilderness survival, a juicy love triangle, and more twists and turns than a roller coaster, this fast-paced novel had me holding my breath until the very last page—and still begging for more!”
-Kimberly Derting, author of the The Body Finder series

================================

16 year old Grace has lived in the Smokies all her life, patrolling with her forest ranger father who taught her about wildlife, tracking, and wilderness survival.

When her dad goes missing on a routine patrol, Grace refuses to believe he’s dead and fights the town authorities, tribal officials, and nature to find him.

One day, while out tracking clues, Grace is rescued from danger by Mo, a hot guy with an intoxicating accent and a secret. As her feelings between him and her ex-boyfriend get muddled, Grace travels deep into the wilderness to escape and find her father.

Along the way, Grace learns terrible secrets that sever relationships and lives. Soon she’s enmeshed in a web of conspiracy, deception, and murder. And it’s going to take a lot more than a compass and a motorcycle (named Lucifer) for this kick-butting heroine to save everything she loves.

Look for my review on this book coming soon!

Author:

Heather is a happily married wife & Mom of 2 daughters and three four legged kids. She began her addiction to reading with the Twilight Saga. Mainly she reads anything in the young adult genre and is always on the lookout for the newest bestseller!

5 thoughts on “Pyxis Blog Tour, Interview/Kindle Giveaway & Untraceable’s Book Birthday!

Talk to me!

