Posted in 2011, Book Tours, December

Cold Blood Blog Tour & Cantrip Giveaway Winner


Welcome to the Cold Blood Blog Tour!!! I am excited to be part of this tour and to reveal an excerpt of the book! Cold Blood is the second book in the Dirty Blood series by Heather Hildenbrand. To see my review for Dirty Blood, go HERE.

Published on November 22, 2011

Wood Point Academy is not at all what I expected. For one thing, it looks like a cross between military school and Buckingham Palace. Everyone stares, the floors shine so bright you can see your reflection in them from a mile away, and no one smiles. Unless they’re kicking your butt in the process. Which happens more often than not for the freshman. Lucky for them, my presence has just stolen the spotlight, and they get a break from the daily joys of hazing.

At least I’ve got plenty to take my mind off the fact that my psycho cousin, Miles De’Luca, keeps calling and declaring his love and promising to come for me just as soon as he’s destroyed anyone standing in our way. Wes isn’t going to like that idea. So between Miles, Wood Point’s evil welcoming committee, and the drill sergeant hottie trainer from hell, I just keep asking myself, how did I end up here?

My Review:

Surprise, Surprise! I was mesmerised by this book even more than the first! I loved the new characters and the character of Cambria, which was a grand prize right here on NightlyReading to win a character named after you in Heather’s next book, is a great character of BFF. Cambria will be very happy with the character that was chosen for her:)

The move to Wood Point Academy and the incoming of a new man in Tara’s life have her questioning everything! I, personally love Alex and would love to see more of him. Even George played a major role in this book, which I was not expecting but was a pleasant surprise!

“You’d kiss me back right now if I kissed you,” he said, and I tried to decide whether to even attempt denial. “But then you’d remember him and you’d feel bad for it.”

As Tara is being torn in several different directions, she is realizing a lot of the prejudices toward her kind. Being a Dirty Blood, is not thought of as a good thing from either the wolves or the hunters. She is also realizing that she is in need of a heck of a lot more training and is not as good as she had once thought. It does not stop her from trying and getting herself into a few pickles along the way!

My favorite scene is Tara’s first training session with Alex, it literally had me in stitches! The action starts there and I found myself falling in love with the interactions between the two. Wes seemed a little bit possessive in this book, which is understandable with everything that is going on, but he tended to get a little bit over bearing and became too much for even Tara herself.

I am so excited for this book and am awaiting with bated breath for the next installment! Heather has mastered the art of combining the love triangle along with the action and adventure of fighting Miles and the wolves. The book was a perfect mix of romance and drama that left me once again begging for more!

*Thank you to Heather Hildenbrand for the ARC copy of this book for the review!

Excerpt:

We started walking again, bypassing a grand staircase wide enough for an eighteen wheeler to come down – sideways, down a long narrow hallway to our left. The scent of bleach and floor wax mixed with the smell that was inherent to any learning institution. The halls were empty, thank goodness, but every few steps I passed a flyer advertising some student club or event. I saw one for a “Fight Club”–yes that’s what it was called–and stopped to read it.

Three spots available in the junior class Fight Club. Tryouts held every Monday and Wednesday after last bell. Not responsible for injuries sustained. Medical team on standby. Come on out if you think you’ve got what it takes.

There was more about waiving liability for possible injuries and I probably would’ve kept reading, but Alex waited with arms crossed over his chest and a scowl at the end of the hall. I hurried to catch up and we took a right down another hallway.

“Why is everyone staring at me?” I asked.

“What do you mean?”

I looked at him with narrowed eyes. “You know what I mean. I know you heard some of the comments being made outside.”

The muscles in his jaw tightened. “Most of the kids here have been together since they were kids. Same school, same social circles. You know how it is. Not everyone is so quick to adjust to a new face.”

I shook my head, not willing to accept such an easy answer. “No, it’s more than that. I heard what they were saying about me. They know that I’m – you know, mixed or whatever. And they have a problem with that.”

“Of course they do,” he snapped. “Do you think any of us want a Werewolf–even a half-ass one–at our school? Learning our moves? Fighting with us?”

I hadn’t been prepared for that; I had no idea what to say. I blinked up at him, mortified by the tears I could feel forming, and looked away while I tried to get myself together. Underneath the urge to cry, I was mad. So I clung to that and grit my teeth before glaring back at him.

“I see,” I said. “Well thanks for the heads up. In the meantime I’ll need a new tutor. One who isn’t a bigoted asshole.”

 
To find out where you can read the next installment of Cold Blood, visit http://www.heatherhildenbrand.blogspot.com
 

 

Cantrip Giveaway Winner:

And the winner is:

Mary R.

The winner has been notified and should expect to see their ebook soon! Thank you to all that entered!

Author:

Heather is a happily married wife & Mom of 2 daughters and three four legged kids. She began her addiction to reading with the Twilight Saga. Mainly she reads anything in the young adult genre and is always on the lookout for the newest bestseller!

10 thoughts on “Cold Blood Blog Tour & Cantrip Giveaway Winner

  1. Thank you for picking my name out of the magic hat!

    This one looks pretty good. I love the cover. Great Review! I remember that grand prize. How cool is that to have a character named after you!

    Mary

    Like

  2. Wow! That excerpt ran the gamut of emotions- rejection, pain, anger. I can see why everyone is excited about these books.

    Thanks for the share!

    Like

Talk to me!

