Fifty Shades Darker by EL James & Interview with Cameron Stracher


WARNING: NOT a Young Adult book!!!

“This is me, Ana. All of me…and I’m all yours. What do I have to do to make you realize that? To make you see that I want you any way I can get you. That I love you.”

Published on September 15, 2011 by The Writer’s Coffee Shop Publishing House

Rating: 5 Stars!!

Daunted by the singular sexual tastes and dark secrets of the beautiful, tormented young entrepreneur Christian Grey, Anastasia Steele has broken off their relationship to start a new career with a Seattle publishing house.

But desire for Christian still dominates her every waking thought, and when he proposes a new arrangement, Anastasia cannot resist. They rekindle their searing sensual affair, and Anastasia learns more about the harrowing past of her damaged, driven and demanding Fifty Shades.

While Christian wrestles with his inner demons, Anastasia must confront the anger and envy of the women who came before her, and make the most important decision of her life.

My Review:

This book starts off a few days after the first one ended. Ana is literally a mess! She has not been eating or sleeping. She cannot stay focused and practically could make a river out of all the tears she has shed. Her roommate, Kate has gone on vacation and Ana is left feeling very lonely and with no one to talk to. I hated to see Ana this way! I was heartbroken for her and wanted to smack Christian upside the head!

Christian still offers to go with Ana to Jose’s show and without any other options, Ana accepts. Christian comes up with a new relationship plan for them and Ana finds herself not being able to say no to him again.

I absolutely loved Christian in this book. He is trying so hard to fight his demons and show Ana that he cares for her. Ana was a pistol, she was able to stand up for herself on many occasions and try to show Christian that she can make decisions on her own. The email bantering was yet again ongoing and I enjoyed every minute of it!

Fifty Shades Darker showed the reader much more into the past of Christian and helped Ana come to terms with Christian’s ex “subs”, with a few twists of course.

The sexual scenes were a little more intimate in this book, but don’t despair, there were plenty of them. I am very much looking forward to the next and final book in this series, Fifty Shades Freed, coming in January 2012!

“Are you on your own?”
“No. There are six people staring at me right now wondering who the hell I’m talking to.”
shit…”Really?” I gasp, panicked.
“Yes. Really. My girlfriend,” he announces away from the phone.
holy cow! “They probably all thought you were gay, you know.”

 

“I don’t know whether to worship at your feet or spank the living shit out of you.”

 

Interview with the author of The Water Wars:

Welcome to a future where water is more precious than gold or oil-and worth killing for

Vera and her brother, Will, live in the shadow of the Great Panic, in a country that has collapsed from environmental catastrophe. Water is hoarded by governments, rivers are dammed, and clouds are sucked from the sky. But then Vera befriends Kai, who seems to have limitless access to fresh water. When Kai suddenly disappears, Vera and Will set off on a dangerous journey in search of him-pursued by pirates, a paramilitary group, and greedy corporations. Timely and eerily familiar, acclaimed author Cameron Stracher makes a stunning YA debut that’s impossible to forget.

“Let us pray that the world which Cameron Stracher has invented in The Water Wars is testament solely to his pure, wild, and brilliant imagination, and not his ability to see the future. I was parched just reading it.”-Laurie David, academy award winning producer of An Inconvenient Truth, and author of The Down to Earth Guide to Global Warming

 

Thank you to Cameron Stracher for taking the time to answer my questions!!!

Where did the inspiration come from when writing The Water Wars?

 I wanted to write a credible exciting thoughtful book for my twelve year old son who was reading a lot of YA fiction at the time. 

 What an interesting storyline, do you foresee this happening to our earth in the future?

 Just today I read an article in the NY Times that said more than 50 percent of the rivers in the world are under man-made control (through dams or other devices), so I think we’re already living in that world. 

 Are your characters based on people that you know or are they completely fictional?

 My son and daughter are about the same age as Vera and Will, but that’s the only similarity I’m aware of. 

 If your book was turned into a movie, whom would you cast as the main character, if it was your choice?

 Not sure about the heroes, but I think I could see myself playing the villain, Tor, because I realize I’ve described him as looking like me.  Hmmm. 

 What is next on your agenda? Any new books on the horizon?

 My next YA book is a thriller about the end of the universe. 

 Speed Round:

 Favorite Book? To Kill a Mockingbird

Favorite Author? William Fauilkner

Favorite genre to read? Science Fiction

Favorite genre to write? Humor

Favorite place to read? My living room couch or my bed. 

 

One comment

Talk to me!

