Posted in 2011, December

Wake by Abria Mattina Review & Guest Post, ICarus Blog Tour & Sleepers Reveal!


Wake by Abria Mattina

WAKE

by Abria Mattina

Kindle / Barnes & Noble

Pages: 727
Published September 22nd 2011
ISBN: 9780986957

Eighteen isn’t too young to run your life into the ground, but it’s not too old to fix it, either. The desire for change drives Willa Kirk from St. John’s, Newfoundland back to her hometown of Smiths Falls, Ontario, away from her mistakes and the place where her sister died. She’s looking for a place to settle and rebuild, but Jem Harper just wants to get out of town, back to the life he knew before cancer. By letting the tragedies in their lives define them, they are both dying a little more every day. Welcome to the wake.

Guest Post: Abria Mattina

Author of WAKE

Review blogs: the good and the bad

When I was asked to write a guest post on Review Blogs, the Good and the Bad, I didn’t know what to make of the request. Whatever I wrote for the post would, of course, end up on a review blog. It’s a situation not unlike a man being asked by his wife, “Does this outfit make me look fat?”

So, with no idea of how to give politically correct or fair answer, I forged ahead and decided to express my thoughts on book bloggers and choosing bloggers for your book through interpretive dance an infographic.

 Photobucket

When you do find bloggers to help you get the word out about your book, remember to be kind and professional. You don’t want to be another Jacqueline Howett (http://www.shallwrite.com/2011/03/31/handling-negative-publicity/). Thank even the bloggers who give your book an unfavourable review–may they be few and gentle.

* * * * *

Abria Mattina’s links

Website / Twitter / Facebook

Follow the rest of the WAKE tour!

12/2 review @ Books Glorious Books
12/4 review @ Nightly Reading
12/5 review @ Aobibliosphere
12/6 guest post @ Kickin Back with Kiwi
12/7 guest post @ Aobibliosphere
12/10 guest post @ Maria’s Handmade Love
12/10 review @ All things books
12/12 guest post @ Books Glorious Books
12/12 guest post @ Just Another Book Addict
12/14 review @ Owl Tell You About It
12/15 guest post @ Owl Tell You About It
12/17 guest post @ The Book Diva’s Reads
12/18 guest post @ The Phantom Paragrapher
12/19 guest post @ Nightly Reading
12/21 review @ Kickin Back With Kiwi
12/22 guest post @ All things books
12/23 guest post @ Just One More Paragraph
12/30 guest post @ Celtic Lady’s Reviews

My Review:

I was not sure what to expect when I first started reading this book and please do not judge a book by its cover! Many of us do, myself includedand I have found many GREAT books that I would not have really paid much attention to just by the cover. This one included!

Willa and Jem have a lot in common, but they share a lot of differences also. They get placed together as project partners in Sociology class and neither are too thrilled about it. I loved their bantering back & forth during their very first conversations. I guess that I should mention that Jem is in remission of Cancer and Willa had lost her sister to cancer. Jem still wallows in pity and hates the fact that people tip toe around him. He quickly learns that Willa will do no such thing and just treats him like she would treat anyone else. He loves it! Willa is still trying to recover from losing her sister, but she holds a major secret that she had never told anyone. She likes Jem, but tries to stay away when he starts to get too clingy.

The two go on a rocky path between fighting their differences in opinion and trying to work through each of their demons together as well as individually.  There will need to be a lot of forgiveness and a lot of hope for the two to come together and finally be able to live the life they were meant to!

My favorite character was Ava, she was very snarky and a wise a$$. I loved every minute with her! She told it just like she saw it. No sugar-coating needed and if you didn’t like it…oh well!

There are many serious issues that this book deals with besides love..there is the aspect of cancer, assisted suicide and suicide itself. I really liked the depiction of each of these scenarios and felt that the writer had hit the nail on the head. I would suggest this book for a very mature teen!

“I like you,” he insists

“I believe you.”

“Willa?”

“Yeah?”

“I think I’m gonna throw up.”

Holding his head over the basin while he pukes, I can’t help but think: this is exactly how we first met. Green Jell-O included.

 ICarus:

“Don’t get me wrong; immortality does have its perks. Take dieting for example—kind of hard to do when you’ve only got two choices: fresh blood and slightly less fresh blood. The media makes it all out to be glamorous. Romantic, even. But the books, movies and witty television shows have it wrong. Especially the ones that make a big to-do about not being wrong (you know, the ones that spell vampire Vampyr, like it’s original).

 And don’t think for a second that I was turned in some amazing, soul-binding, body-meshing way either. I don’t think my libido is damaged enough to forget that kind of rendezvous. Though, to be honest, I don’t recall anything about it. As soon as you’re turned, as soon as anyone is turned, the powers that be rush in like witness protection agents and whisk you off, never to see your family or friends again. Your life changes in ways you never imagined that it could.

 Like the fact that I was kidnapped last night. Totally didn’t see that coming. Not being the Covenant-level assassin that I am (did I mention that already? I didn’t get much of a choice in that either—the profession I mean). Oh, and get this … the creeps who grabbed me claim that my mentor/should-have-kept-it-professional boyfriend Trinity is the vampire equivalent to the anti-Christ.

 Nice. And to think it’s only Tuesday.

 But wait, it gets better. See, there is one fact about vampirism that everyone gets correct—our bodies can’t biologically process natural light. Past that, all I know is that if I don’t partake of my usual dose of Icarus every seven days (provided via injection by the powers that be), I’ll lose my existence as I know it. It allows me to bask in the sunlight, keeps us from exploding into flames and I’ve heard rumors that it’s what makes us immortal. You know, little things.

 Now, since Head Creep removed the dosing disc from my arm, whether I had anything to do with it or not, I’m guilty of betraying High Coven. This fact not only sucks (pun intended), it means I’ve been condemned to death.

 An assassin … condemned to death. Seems like kind of shitty deal if you ask me.

 I don’t care that Head Creep is hot enough that he gives Christian Bale a run for his money. He claims that Icarus is part of some massive conspiracy, that vampires are a perverse mutation of beings from another universe, and that Trinity (along with some dark army he’s supposedly in charge of) plans to exterminate the human race. Of course, he says this will occur in less than a week. And damn, wouldn’t you know he’d kidnap me on day six of my dose?”

 J. S. Chancellor

Genre: Fiction | Fantasy | Paranormal | Romance

Paperback: 314 pages

Booksize: 5.5 x 8.5

Language: English

J.S. Chancellor, whose personal motto is, “woe is the writer who mounts their merit on the masses,” started writing stories when she was still in grade school, and finished her first fantasy novella at the age of 14. She drafted chapter one of the Guardians of Legend trilogy when she was a freshman in high school, sitting on a stool in front of a piano bench, in her parents’ den. It wasn’t until she was 25 when a resident at the apartment complex where she worked lovingly made a casual remark about her procrastination that her passion for fantasy fiction took center stage. Since then she’s focused all of her efforts on writing, to include leaving her full time job in September 2009 and actively maintaining a blog dedicated to the art of crafting fiction. She currently resides in Georgia with her two beloved dogs.

Sleepers Reveal:

Sleepers by Megg Jensen

An adoptee raised in a foreign land, sixteen-year-old Lianne was content with her life as handmaiden to the queen, until a spell cast on her at birth activated. Now she’s filled with uncontrollable rage and access to magic she thought had been bled from her people years ago. Even her years of secret training in elite hand-to-hand combat and meditation can’t calm the fires raging inside her.

Her heart is torn between two boys, the one she’s always loved and the one who always ignored her. But when the kingdom threatens to tear itself apart due to rumors surrounding the queen’s alleged affair, who will Lianne protect and who will she destroy?

Book One in The Swarm Trilogy

Isn’t this cover beautiful?

Author:

Heather is a happily married wife & Mom of 2 daughters and three four legged kids. She began her addiction to reading with the Twilight Saga. Mainly she reads anything in the young adult genre and is always on the lookout for the newest bestseller!

Talk to me!

