Double Clutch (Brenna Blixen 1) by Liz Reinhardt


Kindle Edition

Published on September 6, 2011

Rating 5 out of 5 stars!

What happens when you fall for the perfect guy…twice…in one day?

Brenna Blixen spent her freshman year homeschooling in Denmark; now that she’s back in the States, she’s determined to make her sophomore year unforgettable. And by unforgettable, she imagined awesome classes, fun friendships, and maybe a little romance.

What she got was a whole lot of romance, and all at once.

The same day that dark, brooding Saxon Maclean charmed her with his killer good looks and whip-smart wit, Jake Kelly stole her breath away with his heart-wrenching smile and intelligent, thoughtful focus.

But Saxon is a proud player who makes it clear that he doesn’t know why he can’t get Brenna off of his mind and out of his system, and Jake’s sweet and humble attitude hides a secret past life that might be darker and more complex than Brenna is willing to deal with.

Complicating the matter is the fact that Saxon and Jake were once best friends and are now arch-enemies…and the more Brenna finds out about their connection to each other, the more intrigued and worried she becomes.

Between keeping the peace with her lovingly over-protective parents, designing t-shirts for her high school’s rising punk band, keeping up her grades in classes split between academic and technical high school, and running the track like a maniac, Brenna has enough to worry about with out juggling two guys who make her heart thud and drive her crazy all at once.

She has to make a choice, but how is she supposed to do that when giving her heart to one of them might mean breaking the other’s?

Recommended Age Group: Older YA

My Review:

Double-clutch- A pattern of breathing in which a runner inhales two breaths for every breath exhaled

Brenna Blixen is one smart, attractive and frustrating young lady. I, personally, loved her character. I cannot imagine being uprooted to live in another country and then be ripped away again to come back home after a year. But, she didn’t seem to mind all that much. This fact just goes to show her strong will and determination. The one mild flaw that this has had on her was that she was a very sheltered child. Her mother had home schooled her and she really did not have much experience with people her own age. She soon learned what it was like as an everyday teenager and what it was like to fall in love.

The two boys that Ms. Reinhardt had created were very different on so many levels, yet the same on so many others. Saxon was the brooding dark bad boy. He could keep up with Brenna in conversation and wit. From the very first meeting they had a spark which they both noticed. I loved Saxon! But, I tend to steer toward the bad boys. Jake was sweet and funny. He made Bren smile and was not afraid to show her how much he cared. They both had quite a few skeletons in their closet, Saxon was just a little more open with his.

I enjoyed the secondary characters as well. Bren’s Mom was always a worry wart and so afraid to let go of her baby. Bren was lucky to have her step-father, he seemed to balance her mother out a little.

In the end, I believe that Bren made the right choice! Ms. Reinhardt created the perfect love triangle. This book made me smile and made my heart speed up. I would recommend it for a mature teen due to the sexual nature at some parts, but this was definitely a great read!

 

Finally, there was nothing else I could do to stall. And just when I was getting desperate, the phone rang.
“Jake,” I said automatically, but it wasn`t Jake.
“Brenna.” The voice on the other end slurred.
“Saxon?” My head spun. Why was he calling so late? I could hear music and laughing and yells in the background.

“Where are you?”
“Partying.” His voice was heavy and angry around the word. “I want you.”
“Enough,” I hissed. “I`m with Jake, I love him. I don`t love you.”
He laughed, a hard sound. “I don`t love you either.” He had obviously been drinking.
“I just want you.”
“I`m hanging up now.” I was irritated I hadn`t checked the number before I dove for the phone.
“What if I change my mind about telling Jake?” he threatened.

 

One comment

Talk to me!

