Posted in 2011, December

Love & Leftovers Character Interview


My wish
is to fall
cranium over Converse
in dizzy, daydream-worthy
love.

When her parents split, Marcie is dragged from Idaho to a family summerhouse in New Hampshire. She leaves behind her friends, a group of freaks and geeks called the Leftovers, including her emo-rocker boyfriend, and her father.

By the time Labor Day rolls around, Marcie suspects this “vacation” has become permanent. She starts at a new school where a cute boy brings her breakfast and a new romance heats up. But understanding love, especially when you’ve watched your parents’ affections end, is elusive. What does it feel like, really? can you even know it until you’ve lost it?

Love and Leftovers is a beautifully written story of one girl’s journey navigating family, friends, and love, and a compelling and sexy read that teens will gobble up whole.

Love & Leftovers by Sarah Tregay

Published on December 27, 2011 by HarperCollins Children’s Books

Character Interview with Marcie Foster:

1. Your demographics? Name, age, where you live?

 My name is Marcie Foster. I’m sixteen and I’m stuck on summer vacation in East Nowhere, New Hampshire (okay, Durham). Usually, I live in Boise, Idaho.

 2. What do you believe is a person’s first impression of you?

 I’d like to think that they’d see me as a friendly person, but I get the feeling people take one look and say, “Leftover.” You know the type—one step up from Loser.

 3. Do you have a boyfriend? A crush?

 Both. Oops. I shouldn’t tell you that. You’re going to post it on your blog.

 See there’s J.D. in New Hampshire. Think Prince Harry and throw in a little David Beckham (or other soccer-playing jock of your choice) and add a New England accent. Adorable. And he brings me breakfast.

 Then there’s Linus, my boyfriend, back in Boise. He’s super sweet and 4.0-smart with deep, espresso brown eyes. He’s the youngest of four boys and wears hand-me-down t-shirts that are all soft and huggable. He writes me love songs and posts them on YouTube. Who couldn’t love a guy like that?

 4. Your best friend’s name and how long you have known each other?

 My best friend is Katie Raskolnikov—the blonde with a pink streak in her hair. Yes, I noticed. Her socks don’t match. She plays bass guitar in Linus’s band. We’ve been best friends since sixth grade. Yeah, I’ve gotten used to the hair. And the socks. Did you know she has a tattoo?

 *Thanks to Sarah Tregay for taking the time to answer all of my questions and introduce us to Marcie!

Purchase the book from Amazon

 

Author:

Heather is a happily married wife & Mom of 2 daughters and three four legged kids. She began her addiction to reading with the Twilight Saga. Mainly she reads anything in the young adult genre and is always on the lookout for the newest bestseller!

Talk to me!

