Posted in 2012, Author Interviews, January

Shattered Souls by Mary Lindsey & Author Q&A


Shattered Souls by Mary Lindsey

Published December 8th 2011 by Philomel/Penguin 

Add it on  Goodreads

Purchase a copy from Amazon

Lenzi hears voices and has visions – gravestones, floods, a boy with steel gray eyes. Her boyfriend, Zak, can’t help, and everything keeps getting louder and more intense. Then Lenzi meets Alden, the boy from her dreams, who reveals that she’s a reincarnated Speaker – someone who can talk to and help lost souls – and that he has been her Protector for centuries.

Now Lenzi must choose between her life with Zak and the life she is destined to lead with Alden. But time is running out: a malevolent spirit is out to destroy Lenzi, and he will kill her if she doesn’t make a decision soon.

Review

How do I express how much I love this book? This might be the only book I’ve ever read, or at least read in a long long time, where I was immediately drawn in on the very first page.

Lenzi is just trying to be normal. Her dad was schizophrenic. He heard voices, and then he died. Now Lenzi is hearing voices, too. The stability in her life is her ever so sweet boyfriend Zak. But the voices are getting worse, and as much as he wants to, Zak can’t really help. And that’s when she meets Alden, in a cemetery no less. And although she resists, Lenzi starts realizing that she needs Alden if she’s wants to keep the voices at bay.

I love this story. It gives a whole new meaning to the phrase “soul mates”, and not at all in a corny way. The writing is wonderful. The dialogue is witty and sarcastic, just how I like it. The whole book is quote worthy. And the characters….

Lenzi is just a girl trying to make sense of the horrible situation she finds herself in. She’s scared (who wouldn’t be?), but she’s not weak, and like a true heroine, she gets better with every page. I sympathized with her. I loved her.

And I loved Zak. The book starts with Lenzi having a boyfriend. In most books you would expect the boyfriend to be an ass, so that the heroine can fall in love with the hero, or something like that. But usually that’s not the case in real life, and its not that easy in this book. I loved Zak. He really loved Lenzi and wanted her to be happy. In my mind, he was totally date-worthy. And so was Race for that matter. Race was another protector, and another one of the wonderful men that I fell in love with in this book.

Which brings us to Alden. Sweet, patient, caring. I think I’m in love. Lenzi remembers nothing of her past lives as a speaker, and Alden is by her side the whole time, helping her deal with what would be a truly unbelievable situation to most people. Did I mention how much I love him?

In addition to the truly original story, the witty writing, the heart warming characters, and the great action, there’s an ending I didn’t expect, and yes, I did cry like a little girl. I did reread the last few chapters a few times after reading the book, just to be close to the characters again.

And as a final note: OMG look at the cover! It’s a girl, disintegrating into rose petals (cuz her reincarnation’s name was Rose).  So beautiful!  Ok, I’m going to stop gushing now.

And don’t forget “There’s hope until the last second” – Cover page of the IC Rule Book

Author Interview

After I read and loved Shattered Souls, I reached out to Mary Lindsey to see if she would do a brief Q&A for our readers, and she agreed!  I want to thank her for taking the time to answer my questions, and hope you get a little more insight into a fantastic new author.

How did you get into writing?

Like most kids, I composed stories, but I never wanted to be a writer. I was (and am) first and foremost a reader.  I majored in English with a focus on the classics and great works. A majority of my writing in college was literary analysis; in law school, it was technical writing and briefs. I avoided creative writing like the plague. I thought I was terrible at it. It was too hard to come up with stuff that wasn’t lame (It still is).

I started writing several years ago by accident. My daughter had just discovered teen literature and had burned through several popular series. She was lamenting the fact that most male heroes in paranormal books were demons, vampires or some type of inherently evil creature fighting their wicked impulses. She asked me why the hero couldn’t be a “normal” guy who has some kind of special/magical power, but wasn’t evil or didn’t believe himself evil.

I told her that for her birthday, I’d write her a book like that. (To this day, I have no idea why I would offer such a crazy thing. I’d never written fiction and had no desire to do so).

True to my word, I gave her a chapter a day for a month.

After spending a month writing 8-12 hours a day, I decided I’d found the perfect job. I LOVED it.

I think the story is so original, what inspired you to write it?

I knew I wanted to write a ghost story. I also knew I wanted it to include an historical disaster that would produce a lot of unresolved dead guys. I toyed with the San Francisco Fire, the Civil War, World War II, but then, a high school student of mine told me she was reading a book for English that she hated. Trying to help her out, I offered to read it with her, like a buddy. She agreed, and I read Isaac’s Storm. It was amazing. I’d learned about the Great Storm of 1900 in high school, but the book made it real for me. I had my disaster. My enthusiasm for the Isaac’s Storm made it more tolerable for my student, but I’m still not sure she ever fell in love with it.

Alden is my new book boyfriend. I can’t imagine writing him without stopping to swoon every few sentences.  How did you hold it together?  

I fell in love with Alden too. I think everyone wants a person who believes completely in them. Lenzi is a lucky girl.

More seriously, how did you come up with him? Is he based on anyone in real life?

He has elements of lots of people in my life, but no, he’s not based on anyone in particular.

Your cover is gorgeous and is probably what draws a lot of people’s eyes originally to the book. What’s your favorite book cover, besides your own?

The cover of Shattered Souls is gorgeous. I was thrilled when my editor sent it to me. The Penguin art department did an amazing job.

I like covers for The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer, Unearthly, and the Fallen series.  Fun note: I have not read any of these yet, but they are in my TBR pile.

What’s your favorite book, and who’s your favorite author?

My favorite books are the Harry Potter Series and To Kill a Mockingbird. Those are my favorite authors as well. Though Patrick Rothfuss rocks as well.

What are you currently reading?

A biography of Edgar Allen Poe

Can we expect a sequel?

That’s a good question. I have no idea. It hasn’t been ruled out, but I have another project in the works first.

What else are you working on, or will be working on?

I’m working on a gothic YA based on Edgar Allan Poe’s last poem, “Annabel Lee” for Philomel/Penguin.  It’s expected publication date will be sometime in late 2013. It’s dark and creepy and a blast to write.

Updates:

Lacey, Lisa, Diana and I would like to thank all of our followers for following along and sticking with us during our transition. We seem to have everything situated and are moving along very nicely! As you can see, we have recently established a new rating system and we hope you like it as much as we do!

Again, Thanks for following and happy reading!

2 thoughts on “Shattered Souls by Mary Lindsey & Author Q&A

Talk to me!

