Life On The Edge by Jennifer Comeaux Review/Interview/Giveaway


Life on The Edge by Jennifer Comeaux

Published January 3rd 2012 by Astraea Press
 
Add it to your Goodreads shelf
 
Purchase a copy at Amazon
 

Nineteen-year-old Emily is new to pairs skating, but she and her partner Chris have a big dream–to be the first American team to win Olympic gold. Their young coach Sergei, who left Russia after a mysterious end to his skating career, believes they can break through and make history.

Emily and Chris are on track to be top contenders at the 2002 Winter Games. But when forbidden feelings spark between Emily and Sergei, broken trust and an unexpected enemy threaten to derail Emily’s dreams of gold.

 

Review

I secretly am in awe of anyone that can ice skate. I loved reading about the turns and the jumps. You can tell that the author is either a skater herself or follows the sport very closely. Either of those, or she really did her research. While reading, I felt like I was right there on the ice with the characters and had the adrenaline pumping though my veins.

The characters were a good mix. they all meshed well together. I really enjoyed the character of Emily, but kind of hoped that she would end up with her skating partner, Chris. They seemed to have such a great connection with each other. Sergei was a great addition to the storyline and it did not take long to understand why Emily had been so smitten with him. I liked the secrecy aspect of the love story with the sneaking around, it upped the anxiety for the reader while waiting for the next shoe to drop. I must admit that there were times that the storyline kind of dragged on and it had a tendency to be a little predictable, but, it held my attention through to the end.

All in all, I really enjoyed this book. I really look forward to reading love stories, especially if they have a happy ending! I recommend this read for anyone seeking a love story that turns from an innocent friendship into so much more!

Interview

When did you decide you wanted to be a writer?  I started writing stories when I was around seven years old, but I put aside writing for a long time as I pursued my education and a career in business. In 2009, a friend encouraged me to write a story I’d been thinking about for many years. What started out as a project to share just with friends evolved into my first published book!

 Where do you see yourself in 5 years? I hope to have a few more books under my name in five years. I’d like to continue to write stories set in the world of figure skating. The dynamics of life in the sport are so fascinating to me.

 If your book was turned into a movie, whom would you cast as the main character, if it was your choice? I’d love Kimberly Matula, who plays Hope on The Bold and the Beautiful, to star as Emily. She has the perfect look, and her character on B&B has similar values to Emily, so I can totally envision her in the role! For the role of Sergei, I’d like Josh Dallas, currently starring as Prince Charming on Once Upon a Time. Handsome with a deep, sexy voice and piercing blue eyes–perfect!

 When you are not writing, what do you enjoy doing? I love going to movies, listening to music, and travelling. Some of my favorite travels have been to figure skating competitions, where I’ve made some wonderful friends and visited some amazing cities.

 What is next on your agenda? Any new books on the horizon?? I’m currently working on ideas for a follow-up to Emily and Sergei’s story. Stay tuned!

 Speed Round:

 Favorite Book? To Kill a Mockingbird

Favorite Author? None in particular. I like to dabble!

Favorite genre to read? Young adult and Chick Lit

Favorite genre to write? Romance

Favorite place to read?  My big comfy chair

Giveaway

Rules:

1. MUST be a follower

2. Winner will be chosen by Random.org on 1/20/12

3. Winner will receive an ebook copy, so the contest is International!

4. Fill out form:

 

[googleapps domain=”docs” dir=”spreadsheet/embeddedform” query=”formkey=dFB1RVBRMXVORXZpRzl2ZEU1WkxKVlE6MQ” width=”760″ height=”758″ /]

Talk to me!

