Posted in 2012, January

Under The Never Sky Review & Giveaway Winner & a Thank You!


Under The Never Sky by Veronica Rossi

Published January 3, 2012 by HarperCollins

Add it to Goodreads

Purchase a copy from Amazon

Aria is a teenager in the enclosed city of Reverie. Like all Dwellers, she spends her time with friends in virtual environments, called Realms, accessed through an eyepiece called a Smarteye. Aria enjoys the Realms and the easy life in Reverie. When she is forced out of the pod for a crime she did not commit, she believes her death is imminent. The outside world is known as The Death Shop, with danger in every direction.

As an Outsider, Perry has always known hunger, vicious predators, and violent energy storms from the swirling electrified atmosphere called the Aether. A bit of an outcast even among his hunting tribe, Perry withstands these daily tests with his exceptional abilities, as he is gifted with powerful senses that enable him to scent danger, food and even human emotions.

They come together reluctantly, for Aria must depend on Perry, whom she considers a barbarian, to help her get back to Reverie, while Perry needs Aria to help unravel the mystery of his beloved nephew’s abduction by the Dwellers. Together they embark on a journey challenged as much by their prejudices as by encounters with cannibals and wolves. But to their surprise, Aria and Perry forge an unlikely love – one that will forever change the fate of all who live UNDER THE NEVER SKY.

Heather’s Review

I have heard some compare this book to The Hunger Games, but, my thoughts had immediately gone to The Chaos Walking series by Patrick Ness. It took me a little while to get use to the “lingo”, but ended up LOVING the book!

Aria, the Dweller and Perry, the Outsider, meet under unfortunate circumstances when Aria had snuck into a particular pod with her friends. My favorite part about this book was that it was not love at first sight with the two main characters. They actually despised each other. Their relationship blossomed into a beautiful friendship and then so much more. But, it happened over the course of the book and NOT just a few chapters.

“She found it curious and frightening that she could deeply dislike someone she didn’t even know. It wasn’t her. At least, it wasn’t how she used to be.”

I had even became quite fond of the secondary characters. One of my favorites was Perry’s friend, Roar. He was quite funny!

Roar leaned across the table and smiled at her seductively, his dark hair falling into his eyes. ‘When you say everything happens in the Realms, do you mean everything?’

Aria laughed nervously.’Yes. Especially that.There are no risks in the Realms.’

Roar’s smile widened. ‘You simply think it and it happens? And it
actually feels real?’

‘Why are we talking about this?’

‘I need a Smarteye,’ he said.

Aria and Perry both need something from each other and along their journey, they come across many obstacles. Aria is not familiar with Perry’s world and Perry has to protect her at all costs.

The ending was a little disheartening, but, the writer gave you a little tidbit on what may happen next. She does not come right out and say it and she let’s the reader use a little of their imagination. Ms. Rossi let’s us ponder about what could possibly happen next. She leaves it open for the next book and has a great set-up to continue the series.

All joking aside, this was a fantastic read! I had no idea of what to expect when I received this book and I can honestly tell you that it could possibly become one of my favorites of the year. Ms. Rossi’s writing style is exquisite and I cannot wait to read more! The next book in the series is due sometime in 2013. I will be the first in line to purchase it!

Diana’s Review

I need the sequel in my hands now! I am in awe of all of the wonderful new first time authors and the magic that they can turn out, this book being no exception.

Under the Never Sky captured my attention almost immediately. It started action packed and ready to pull me in. I loved the world building. Two worlds I guess. Aria’s safe Dweller world, where everyone lives in enclosed pods and all you need to do is think of a place, a hobby, a form of entertainment, and just like that, your mind puts you there. And Perry’s Outsider world, which is filled with real beauty and real senses, but also real dangers, such as the aether in the sky whose storms can burn you.

Something I imagine to look like this:


That’s right, I took this picture.

What really drew me into the book were the characters. I firmly believe that characters can make or break a book. In this case they definitely made it better. The chapters are divided between Aria and Perry’s points of view. It was a wonderful way to tell the story allowing us to see both sides more clearly. The characters start off being cold to each other. They’ve been taught to be enemies, foreign to each other. In that way it’s a little Romeo and Juliet -ish. I loved how the relationship built up between them throughout the book, slowly, carefully. Both of them are easy to cheer for. Neither stupid nor arrogant. They are both trying to deal with a completely new and dangerous situation, and yes, they will stumble, but they do it in a forgivable way that, if anything, makes them that much more human.

I’m spending too much time on Aria and Perry when I really loved all of the characters. They were all incredibly endearing. I especially fell for Roar, Perry’s friend. Nothing like a cocky, funny friend to make a story tip the line from good to great. I smiled too many times at the wonders that came out of his mouth.

This book seriously tugged at my heart. And the cliffhanger at the end made me hate the fact that the second book wasn’t already in my hands. I will definitely be picking it up as soon as I can get my hands on it.

Giveaway Winner

it is now time to announce the winner of the ebook of Life On The Edge!!!

And the winner is…..

Ricki@Reading Challenged

Congrats! Your ebook will come directly from the author…look for it in your inbox!

Thank You!

I just wanted to say a very big…

to all of you that listened to my rant yesterday and took the time to leave a comment. I must say that I am still shocked, however, I hope that we have all learned a valuable lesson from this!!!

Thanks for following…you guys are the best:)

Author:

Heather is a happily married wife & Mom of 2 daughters and three four legged kids. She began her addiction to reading with the Twilight Saga. Mainly she reads anything in the young adult genre and is always on the lookout for the newest bestseller!

5 thoughts on “Under The Never Sky Review & Giveaway Winner & a Thank You!

Talk to me!

